My body is still on vacation

4 Nov

Hello again, friends! We’ve been back from Italy for several days now and it’s starting to feel like life is getting back to normal (AKA: We are finally able to keep ourselves awake past 8:30 PM). The trip was incredible and there is SO much to tell everyone, so I will be writing about it in parts. For now, here’s a little teaser:

Hanging out on the Island of Capri

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to fit my running shoes into my little suitcase. That means I went a solid two weeks without running at all. We certainly walked several miles or more a day, but the only running involved was to catch a train or avoid being hit by a scooter.

My first run back was an easy 3 miles to loosen up my legs and get back into the swing of things. Since this went well, I was hoping to get back on track pretty quickly.

Nope.

I had decided I to go for 5 miles on Sunday for my November entry for the Fall 5 or 10 Virtual Race Series. After so much time off, 10 miles just didn’t seem realistic.

Late in the afternoon, I geared up. Yeah, that’s right. The weather went and got all cold while we were enjoying the 75 degree (F) sunshine in Italy. With temps below 40 (F), I had to pull out the compression tights and thermal jacket!

The cold weather is coming…

This run was no fun at all. I felt sluggish and uncomfortable the whole time. My legs just wouldn’t go any faster than a 10:00/mile pace (which is not typical for me) and my body seemed to still be on vacation. I really struggled to stick with it and if it wasn’t for the Fall 5 or 10, I probably would’ve just given up.

I finished in 50:40, much slower than my previous 5 mile entry of 39:17. What a difference a vacay makes?

At least I got to see the beautiful colors of the pond at sunset…

Autumn twilight

I’m registered for the Stockadeathon 15K on Sunday and if this run is any indication, I’ll be taking that one easy.

Question: How do you get back into running after vacation?

One Response to “My body is still on vacation”

  1. nolongernakedrunning November 4, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    After two weeks off, of course you’re going to be a little ‘off’. Good for you for getting out there and doing it anyways. Italy sounds wonderful!
    I nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. You can see the details here: http://nolongernakedrunning.com/2013/11/05/winners-the-lot-of-you-who-takes-the-really-big-cake-home-though/

Leave a Reply

