Not every run is awesome

7 Oct

It’s half marathon week! That means two big things – 1) tapering and 2) carbo-loading! This morning I started to feel the twinge of pre-race giddiness. I’m very excited to be running the Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon for the second time. This race holds a special little place in my heart because it was my very first half last year. This time around it will be my fourth! I still can’t believe how far I’ve come and how much I’ve learned since then. But, that’s a post for another day.

Today, I’m focusing on recapping my second entry into the Fall 5 or 10 Virtual Race Series. This month, I chose to run 10 miles as my entry.

You may often hear read here at run+breathe+be that running is the most amazing thing in the world and I love it. That’s usually the case, but sometimes – I’m less than thrilled with a run or feel downright miserable.

That’s because not every run is awesome.

There. I said it.

Yes, sometimes running sucks. And if I’m being honest here, which I usually am, Saturday’s 10 miler wasn’t awesome. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t awful and I didn’t vomit (thankfully), but I wasn’t loving it.

It actually felt harder than my fantastic 15.5 mile run of fabulousness last weekend. I don’t know if my head just wasn’t in it or if I was more tired than usual, but my pace was all over and I had to fight for a few of the miles.

The stats – 10.03 miles | 1:26:39 total time | 8:38 avg pace

All in all it made for an OK last long run before the half marathon, so I won’t write it off. Isn’t also true that if you have a mediocre long run, the next one is always 1000 times better?!

Well, I sure hope so. 🙂

Question: What was your last less than awesome run?

13 Responses to “Not every run is awesome”

  1. Nick October 7, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    My last less-than-awesome run was the long run 8 days ago, when my GPS got scared by the thunder and lightning and refused to track properly; also the humidity was simply ridiculous, around 90% – my pace was off, my breathing was off, my mind wouldn’t focus…I just grunted it out. Oh well, some days you get chicken, some days just feathers…and some days you get pecked!

    • Nikki October 8, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

      Ha! I’ve never heard that saying. So true though!

  2. Jenny October 7, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    My last year of running has been full of failed runs. I am not as fast as I was starting out… and no matter what I do, I cant seem to “get it back”. I blame my fleeting energy levels!

    • Nikki October 8, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      I say if you ran at all, you didn’t fail!

      • Jenny October 10, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

        Thanks Nikki!
        It is really hard to swallow, but your right…I could have just given up!

  3. kristenk October 7, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    I completely agree! I get so depressed after a bad run but then I remind myself that any run is better than no run at all. It’s tough though!

    • Nikki October 8, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      It can be such a mental game, but you are right – a run is a run and miles are miles!

  4. genext13 October 7, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    I often have better runs when I am putting in the runs and miles. When I change my schedule or my regimen, I lose that thrill. These days that is the case since I started doing the 4 months to a 4 hour(modified) schedule. I run less for less time during this schedule. It is not only a chore to get going, it is hard to want to stay out there. Most of these runs are over before I really get into it.

    • Nikki October 8, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Totally agree. Sometimes it feels like a chore until you do something to spark it up.

  5. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast October 8, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    Oh yes, so true. I had a less than awesome long run this weekend, too! Hopefully that means your half will be AMAZING! 🙂

    • Nikki October 8, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks, Laura. I hope it’s amazing too! And a big boo to less-than-awesome runs…

  6. Katie@RAR October 8, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    very very true! today I had a good run I posted about but I have had MANy a bad run! it takes a few miles for my body to accept the fact that it is running so usually the first few miles of every run are bad! sometimes they improve to a good run or sometimes it just stays bad!

    • Nikki October 8, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

      LOL – “It takes a few miles for my body to accept the fact that it is running.” Best line ever.

Leave a Reply

