It’s been a good week for running

15 Sep

With fast new shoes, (mostly) crisp autumn weather, lessening foot pain, and a long run with my hubby by my side, it’s been a good week for running. Here’s a quick look back on last week’s training…

Monday

First run in my new Mizuno Wave Inspire 9s. This was a recovery run since I did my last long run on Sunday evening. Nice and easy 3.21 miles for a total time of 30:38. I made sure to do a lot of stretching, since my hip flexor is a bit tight. I also did an arm strength training circuit.

Brilliant.

Brilliant.

Tuesday

REST!

Wednesday

An unseasonable hot, humid, steamy day that led to a little stint on the dreadmill after work for 4 miles at an average pace of 8:45/mile. Oh, and I did get in an arm and ab workout in the early morning!

Treadmill time

I took this to prove I actually went to the gym.

Thursday

REST!

Friday

I incorporated a speed workout from the Fall 5 or 10 Virtual Race Series online coaching group. It was a neat little interval workout that kicked my booty into gear.

30-20-10 Intervals

Warm up for at least ten minutes. Then jog 30 seconds, run at a comfortably hard pace for 20 and sprint for 10, and repeat for five total cycles.

Then jog for two minutes. Beginners can cool down for another 10-15 minutes. Advanced runners can jog for two minutes and then repeat the five cycles of 30-20-10 another 2-3 times.

This workout has also been featured here in Runner’s World. I did 3 sets for a total of 3.71 miles, including warm up and cool down.

I then spent the evening with ice on my left foot, left hip flexor, and right knee. NBD.

Saturday

REST! (Seeing a pattern here?)

We spent the day at the museum with our friends and their kids. I was eaten by a T-Rex.

RAWR!

RAWR!

Sunday

Being the super awesome husband that he is, Mark let me wake him up at 6:30 AM so he could bike alongside me during my long run and keep me company. The sun was bright, but the air was crisp and cool and the river alongside the bike path was smooth and peaceful. This is truly the best weather to run in.

Today's view

Today’s view

Love, love, loved this run! My mind and body felt good the whole time (even with a hip flexor that took forever to loosen up) and I really enjoyed having Mark with me.

How does a Garmin get foggy on the inside?!

How does a Garmin get foggy on the inside?!

Mile splits: 9:24, 8:52, 9:11, 9:05, 8:57, 8:54, 8:53, 8:48, 8:36, 8:39, 8:32, 8:26, 8:15, last .11 – 7:47 pace.

Negative split, baby! 

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend!

Question for you: How was your training week?

2 Responses to “It’s been a good week for running”

  1. Kim Conrad September 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    I need to work on my negative splits more. It’s an area in my training where I want to put my focus. You look like you have it under control. Nice run!!

    • Nikki September 16, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

      Thanks! I have struggled a lot with negative splits, especially on long runs. I’m still not quite there yet, but it’s something I am constantly working on! I wish I could give better advice on how to focus on it…

Leave a Reply

