Sayonara, foot pain!

12 Sep

After the Camp Chingachgook Half Marathon (a MONTH ago?!), I mentioned that I was in need of a new pair of running shoes. My Brooks Pure Cadence had reached their peak mileage and it was sadly time to retire them. They were really a great shoe and I was bummed to read the not-so-stellar reviews for the updated version. While I procrastinated contemplated what shoe to buy next, I rocked my Saucony Mirage II. Unfortunately, the tendinitis creeping back into my foot was a tell-tale sign that those were not going to cut it either.

Based on reviews, recommendations, and shoe specs, I narrowed my options down to a few choices. After trying them on, I ultimately went with the Mizuno Wave Inspire 9. (Sorry, Brooks. Maybe some other time.)

When I put them on, I immediately felt the proper support, firmness, and control that my feet need. I also could not get wait to get home and go out for a brilliant run. After 4 miles with these babies, my decision was affirmed and I was in love.

In. Love.

In. Love.

Bonus: Their super lightness and bright colors make you feel at least 356 times faster and bad-assier. (Yup, new word.)

Even bigger bonus: After a couple of runs with these guys, my foot pain is saying, “Sayonara!” The tendinitis is easing away and I might get to save that KT Tape for some other time.

One of the really awesome things that helped me make my decision was this nifty Precision Fit tool that has you do a little test to determine your Running DNA and then recommends shoes that match your needs. Genius.

I’m looking forward to spending a lot of miles in with these beauties on my feet and something tells me I might have to buy several pairs when they go on sale.

Question: How do you know when your running shoes need to be retired?

3 Responses to “Sayonara, foot pain!”

  1. Holly @ Bless Your Heart and the USA September 12, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    I think I’m going to go back to the Wave Inspires….Those were the shoes that worked best for my overpronating feet!!! 🙂

  2. kristenk September 13, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    I just bought those shoes too! I got the wrong size and have to exchange them this weekend, but hopefully I’ll be able to run in them soon! And the colors are what first drew me to them, they’re so bright!

    • Nikki September 13, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      You’ll love them!

Leave a Reply

