Run and reflect

11 Sep

When I woke up this morning, one of the first things I thought about was what today means. September 11th, a day forever etched in the minds and hearts of all Americans. Today we remember the tragedy of lives lost, the service men and women who fearlessly took action, lives forever altered, and a nation finding resolve in its collective grief.

Take a moment tonight to pause and reflect on this day and keep in mind this poignant message:

“For me and my family personally, September 11 was a reminder that life is fleeting, impermanent, and uncertain. Therefore, we must make use of every moment and nurture it with affection, tenderness, beauty, creativity, and laughter.” 

-Deepak Chopra, M.D.

The second thought that passed through me this morning was this: I have to run. I need to run. I have my life, two healthy legs, and above all – the freedom to run safely whenever or wherever I want.

The fog was too thick to run safely in the darkness before sunrise this morning, so I knew I’d have to postpone until the evening. Severe thunderstorms forced me to go to my Plan Z…the dreadmill.

Treadmill time

Treadmill time

Today, that didn’t matter. I was going to run no matter what. I set aside my loathing for the treadmill and I sweated out 4 miles while reflecting on all that I am grateful for.

Sending thoughts of healing to those that continue to grieve and prayers of peace to keep our country safe and free.

Leave a Reply

