Hiking, friends, and a long run

9 Sep

Monday Meditation is postponed this week in order to bring you a recap of an exceptionally wonderful weekend while I’m still feeling refreshed from it!

Ever have one of those weekends where you just smile the whole time and go to bed Sunday feeling truly fulfilled and grateful? Well, that was this past weekend for me. Total bliss from start to finish.

The hubs and I drove a little south for a visit with a couple of friends that I went to grad school with. We started off with a hike at Minnewaska State Park in Kerhonkson, New York.  The weather was sunny and gorgeous and these trails are well maintained and beautiful.

20130907_152247

I would love to go for a nice long run here!

There are many lookouts on the different trails, so we got to see some incredible views.

mountmillbrook

Mount Millbrook

It was so, so good to spend quality time with friends we don’t get to see very often.

minnewaskamtmillbrook

These two are getting married next May!

Mark really enjoyed getting some nature shots with his new camera lens.

20130907_153255

Look at that view!

As we took in the view, I enjoyed this delicious energy bar from Bearded Brothers.

beardedbrothers

That’s some serious yum right there.

We took a “shortcut” on a footpath to cut back over to the lake, which was a more natural terrain.

minnewaska

Into the woods

We ended our 6.17 mile hike at beautiful Lake Minnewaska.

lakeminnewaska

Lake Minnewaska

The rest of our short stay was spent catching up, talking, eating, playing, and laughing. So much laughter! It is always a great feeling when you see friends you haven’t seen in a long time and the reconnection is instant and natural.

When we got home Sunday afternoon, I was determined to go on that 10 mile run I had planned on. Still feeling really positive from such a great weekend, I didn’t hesitate to lace up, map my route, and head out the door.

10mile

Beautiful run

Those 10 miles came easier than I thought they would! The run was smooth going, except for a headwind at mile 9.

Splits: 9:02, 8:56, 8:57, 8:53, 9:02, 8:45, 8:41, 8:40, 8:51 (headwind), 8:31. Avg pace: 8:50

I much prefer doing my long runs in the morning, but I didn’t mind this time around. I guess that’s what happens when you run with a full heart. 🙂

Question: Did anyone else visit friends, hike, or get a long run in this weekend?

2 Responses to “Hiking, friends, and a long run”

  1. kristenk September 9, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    I went hiking this weekend as well! Hiking is honestly my favorite type of exercise, there’s just something about spending all that time climbing up a mountain to get to the top with an awesome view! Everyone says I should get into trail running but I think I’m too much of a klutz and would probably break my ankle 🙂 Your hiking pictures are so pretty!

    • Nikki September 11, 2013 at 8:07 am #

      I don’t trail run often because of the same reason. I’m super clumsy and need a clear path, otherwise I’m a liability. LOL…

Leave a Reply

