An extra rest day

7 Sep

My foot was a little sore on Friday afternoon, so I took an extra rest day. I’m trying this thing where I really listen to my body and switch things up when it tells me to.

It can be hard for many of us runners to take a day off without feeling anxious about its impact on training. I am not afraid to take a rest day.

Sometimes rest days can even be the best days.

Thursday evening we took advantage of my workday ending earlier than usual and the beautiful weather and went for a walk.

image

We'll be newlyweds forever.

Friday was just as beautiful and we went for another walk, this time to the coffee house for pumpkin chai lattes.

image

Fall is my favorite.

I just got this bright scarf from Kohl’s for about $9 to add to my Italy wardrobe. Or I just might wear it every day…

It’s not only important to listen to your body, sometimes we just need to take advantage of extra time and be with those we love. The run will be waiting.

Now we are on our way to visit friends and go on a hike. I’m planning a 10 mile run for Sunday afternoon, so we’ll see how this goes!

Are you afraid to take extra rest days?

4 Responses to “An extra rest day”

  1. christine (@Albany_Wayfarer) September 7, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    I don’t plan super specific training days – I typically have 3-4 runs and some cross training planned for the week but am flexible as needed. Enjoy the extra with the hubs!

    • Nikki September 9, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      Flexibility is so important!

  2. cldem September 7, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    I find it hard both to take them and not take them! If I don’t, I worry I’ll do more damage, if I do I worry I’m missing important miles.

    Hope its feeling better!

    • Nikki September 9, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      I completely agree. It can be the hardest/easiest thing to do, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

