Happy little runner soul (Fall 5 or 10 series kickoff)

5 Sep

Yesterday, I completed my first challenge for the Fall 5 or 10 Mile Virtual Race Series hosted by Laura at Mommy Run Fast. Knowing that the weather was predicted to be beautiful and autumn-like, I saved my run for the evening. By the time the afternoon rolled around, I was giddy with excitement to get on the road with the sun on my shoulders in the cooler, less humid air.

First, I taped my foot up with KT Tape to relieve and support my sore little tendons.

20130904_170443I followed the instructional video on their website and applied it myself according to where my pain is. Spoiler alert: This tape is pure magic and may give its wearer super powers while running.

20130904_172528I fueled a little bit by chowing down on this Health Warrior Chia Bar (via the August Stride Box). The texture is a little strange due to the seeds, but it is delicious! I think it gave me just the little boost I needed before my run.

20130904_174433By the time I got outside (approx 5:45 PM), the weather was P.E.R.F.E.C.T. and I was ready to go!

20130904_174942I threw on a Latin workout station on Pandora and off I went. Immediately, I felt like my legs were ready to rock and they wanted to go fast.

So I let them.

My pace felt like it was a moderate – hard effort, but my little runner soul was dancing the whole time. I don’t know if it was the weather, the KT Tape, the chia bar, or knowing I’d be posting my results in the Fall 5 or 10 spreadsheet, but I felt strong and determined.

My mile splits: 7:58, 7:48, 8:18, 7:47, 7:24.

I’m not sure why mile 3 was wonky (perhaps a hill or having to cross a few intersections?), but I didn’t really notice a big slow down. I finished feeling sweaty and tired strong and exhilarated and followed up with an arm circuit and a lot of stretching.

Even though I had originally planned to log a 10 miler for my first entry, I’m very happy that these 5 miles kicked off the series for me. I’m looking forward to meeting more challenges over the next few months!

3 Responses to “Happy little runner soul (Fall 5 or 10 series kickoff)”

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast September 9, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    Speedy run- nice work!! I love those runs where you just feel like you’re gliding along!

    • Nikki September 9, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks, Laura! I hope I feel just as good or better for the next one.

  2. antwand37.wordpress.com October 14, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    You’re so interesting! I do not suppose I’ve read through something
    like this before. So good to find another person with a few unique thoughts
    on this topic. Really.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is required on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

Leave a Reply

