Weekly training log 8/26-8/31

31 Aug

Despite almost getting hit by a car Wednesday morning, this has been a great running  and training week! I am back into my routine of early morning runs 3 times a week and a long run on the weekend. I even managed to get some strength training in! I still have some holes to fill in my training (cough*crosstraining*cough), but I’m heading in the right direction.

Monday: Up and at ’em at 4:40 AM to get on the road by 5:00! (4.08 miles | 33:44  total time | 8:16 avg pace)

20130826_055935

It was so dark at 5AM that I ran the first miles as if zombies were chasing me.

Tuesday: Thought about doing cross training, but stayed in bed instead. Only “fail” of the week.

Wednesday: Started with an arm strength training circuit before heading out for a run.  (4.25 miles | 34:34 total time | 8:09 avg pace)

Thursday: Rest.

Friday: Another arm strength training circuit followed by another very dark and quick 5:00 AM run. (3.25 miles | 25:50 total time | 8:07 avg pace)

5amdarkrun

It’s just a little dark…

Saturday: I planned to run 10 miles on Sunday for the Fall 5 or 10, but a running friend contacted me yesterday about doing 13 this morning on a new and interesting route. I couldn’t pass that up!  (13.02 miles | 1:59:00 total time | 9:08 avg pace)

13milessoggy

Just enough light rain to make for a soggy run!

My legs were a little tight to start with, but they loosened up after a couple of miles. Isn’t it strange and awesome how our bodies get into such a groove with running that after a certain point the miles just pass by?

13milesaturday

13 miles done before 9:00 AM on a Saturday?! Perfection.

As I’m writing this, I’m icing my feet and right knee. I started to feel a little soreness and am really trying to prevent another foot injury, so I am keeping an eye on it and doing my exercises to keep my little foot tendons strong and healthy. I’ve got big plans for the half marathon in October and re-injury is NOT one of them!

Since I did my long run already, my first entry into the Fall 5 or 10 Challenge will have to be a 5 miler! I’m planning to get that one in on Monday. Now, it’s time for housework on a rainy day!

I hope everyone enjoys their long weekend and good luck to everyone racing!

Leave a Reply

