Deep thoughts version 2.0

21 Aug

Note to self: Don’t try to write a blog post in your head while running. It always ends up leading to a string of random thoughts and start-ups that don’t blend together. And then you forget most of it once you make it back home.

It was a very relaxing morning, as I am off from my morning job for the next few days (yes, it’s a new job…long story). I started out well-rested for a 4 mile run after 9:00 AM in the bright sunshine. Nice!

Well, here are some of the thoughts I had while I was running:

“I’ve got a serious case of the DOMS from that leg workout I did Monday. Ow. Ow. Ow. I should write about that. And I should definitely stretch and foam roll. And maybe write about that, too.”  

“It’s really sunny, glad I put on sunscreen.”

“Overtraining vs. Undertraining. How do you even know?! That’d be a good post.” 

“If a vampire bites a zombie…will it turn into a zombie or will the zombie turn into a vampire? Man, I can’t wait for the Walking Dead and Vampire Diaries season premieres this Fall.” 

“I really do love running, but today is one of those days I love it a little less. Damn you, DOMS!” 

“I could tell everyone about what’s in the August Stride Box! I didn’t even write about July’s. Wow, July was a busy month. The busiest of the Summer, definitely.” 

“Wait, what was I thinking about?”

“Really wish I didn’t have sunscreen on my face. Now my eyes are burning. Ahh! A sweat band. I need a sweat band.”

“Can’t wait to get home and eat that big salad.”

“I know there are holes in my training. Must be more consistent with strength and cross training! Maybe I’ll try spin.”

“I need new running shoes.”

“Why don’t I just write a blog post about my random thoughts while running?”

Looks like I’ve got a couple of good ideas in there. Now all I have to do is get these thoughts organized and start writing!

 

Question: What topics would you like to read about? What random thoughts came up on your last run?

5 Responses to “Deep thoughts version 2.0”

  1. keepaimingforward August 21, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    All random thoughts like this come up during my runs. Sometimes I question if my hair is pulled back tight enough, or if my shoes are going to stayed tied. Other times I think about my day, or how I am planning to spend the rest of my week. Running definitely gets the creative mind juices flowing! On another note, I have just started blogging along with following your blog, so for me I would say I’d love to read more about running and distance along with running. I look forward to reading about some of the thoughts you mentioned above in the near future.

    • Nikki August 23, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      Thanks for the feedback!

      • keepaimingforward August 23, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

        No problem! When you get the chance stop by and check out my blog.

  2. Kim Conrad August 22, 2013 at 6:57 am #

    I have crazy random thoughts while I’m running too. Sometimes, I don’t even finish one thought then I’ve bounced off to something else. I think a lot about work (bad!), how I’m going to schedule runs for the next week, an upcoming race, or what I’m going to say to the students I teach in a particular class. Then I’ll just veer of into left field and think about the beautiful scenery, or how lovely the river sounds splashing over the rocks, or that that crazy driver just almost hit me, or . . . . well, you get the idea. 🙂

    Great post!!

    • Nikki August 23, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      Isn’t it crazy how our thoughts go all over while running? Especially if you’re going without music, which I do most days.

Leave a Reply

