It’s about time I told you…

18 Aug

I’ve been keeping something very exciting from you for months now. Not because it needs to be a secret, but because I wanted to wait until it finally felt real for me. Now that it is exactly two months away, the realness has hit.

We are traveling to ITALY in October!

That’s right, the Friday after my second running of the Mohawk Hudson River Half Marathon, I will be on a plane with my husband and our friend/personal travel guide for 10 days of food, wine, and history. We’re starting in Florence, heading to Rome, and then finishing in Sorrento.

Both of our families have ties to Italy, so we are very excited to be in the country our ancestors emigrated from. Also, we can’t wait to taste the food, sip the wine, and soak in the culture!

We have declared a “Carry-On Challenge” and are only packing what we can each fit in a carry-on and handbag. If you recall my confession about the Just In Case Bag, you will understand how much of a challenge this will be for me! I have been collecting versatile items that can be worn multiple ways to keep my packing light. I need things that easily go from plane to train to street as well as museum to church to dinner. This means I most likely won’t be able to pack any running gear, so chances are there won’t be any international running going on (boo).One of the things I just bought are a pair of denim leggings and I’m already loving them.

Why did I wait so long to buy these?!

Why did I wait so long to buy these?!

Don’t worry, I will be showing you my Italy wardrobe and packing skills and tips! You’re welcome in advance.

In other news, I ran 6.5 miles today at an average pace of 8:46/mile and it felt great. I think my legs are back to normal after the half last weekend. I’ve got eight weeks until the MHR half marathon and my plan is to improve upon last year’s effort. Considering I ran a similar time on a much more challenging course, I’m hoping I’ll crush that goal! This means I’ll be kicking my training into a higher gear and getting more serious about strength, cross, and speed training. I’m still keeping that 14-year-old in my sights for a 5K, too (next try TBD). The Fall 5 or 10 by the 5th Virtual Race Series hosted by Mommy Run Fast will surely keep me on track!

So many exciting things happening in the coming months, so stick around!

Leave a Reply

