Stolen phone and half marathon week

6 Aug

You may have noticed that I did not post a Monday Meditation yesterday. Well, there’s a good reason. My iPhone was stolen right off my desk yesterday morning (I know, right?!). Most of the day and evening was spent dealing with that and the range of emotions it produced.

For example:

Shock

Despair

Anger

Relief (YAY new phone!)

You really have to keep a sense of humor in these kinds of situations, friends. Despite this sense of violation of my personal space and property, there is nothing I can do to change it. Forward is the only direction time can move. Plus, I really like my new Samsung Galaxy S4. Take that, dirty thief!

Unfortunately, this does mean I lost most of the photos taken at the Firefly 5K this weekend. As soon as I collect a few from friends, I will post a recap.

I know, I’ve been a terrible blogger lately… Sorry!

So…

July came and went in a blur and here we are well into August! I’ve got the Camp Chingachgook Challenge half marathon coming up this Saturday in Lake George, which is on the Eastern edge of the Adirondacks. I can’t believe how fast this has come up and I’m really excited about participating in it. This summer has been pretty rough for training (remember thisthis and this?), so I am again going in without expectations and racing based on how I feel and what the weather conditions are. This plan usually works out well for me, so I’m going to stick with it.

Even though I’ve been light on the blogging, I’ve been getting my miles in. I would have liked more consistency with strength and cross training, though. I’m just taking it very easy this week – getting in a few easy miles, trying to rest, and eating some energy packed carbs. Let’s do this!

Misty river during this morning's sunrise run

Misty river during this morning’s 4 mile sunrise run

Question for Android users: What are the best apps for strength training? 

2 Responses to “Stolen phone and half marathon week”

  1. christine (@Albany_Wayfarer) August 6, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    ughhhh! I always live in fear that my phone will go missing. I’m sorry it happened to you! Have fun at the half!

    • Nikki August 6, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      Definitely an awful feeling! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

