Just a little update

1 Aug

Oh, hi! You’ve probably noticed that blog posts have been a little irregular lately here at run+breathe+be. For that, I apologize. When life gets busy, blogging goes on the back burner. That’s just the way the way the cookie crumbles, my friends.

Since you’re all probably anxiously checking your inboxes to see if I’ve posted yet, I thought it was high time I let you in on the goings-on. I recently started a new part-time job as a counselor at a higher education program that supports an at-risk population. I work there in the morning and then still see private clients in the afternoon and evening. In a nutshell: I’m busier than ever during the work week.

I’m adjusting to this new schedule that has me starting my day an hour earlier and still ending at either 6:00 or 8:00 PM Monday through Thursday. If I want to get a run in before work, that means I need to be on the road at about 5:00 AM.

sunrise run 7_30 rbb

View from Tuesday’s sunrise run

When you get home from work at nearly 9:00 PM twice a week, that leaves very little time for unwinding before bed, especially if you want to try and get up to run.

My week days kind of look like this:

Wake up. Run. Shower. Work. Eat. Sleep.

OR Hit snooze. Shower. Work. Run. Eat. Sleep.

OR I skip the run altogether, take a rest day, and try again the next morning. This new schedule is going to take a lot of caffeine some getting used to, but I’ll adjust eventually and things will feel a bit more normal once I’m set into a routine.

And now, the bad news.

Blog posts may have to be reduced to only a couple of times a week. I know, it’s going to be hard on you. I assure you – it’s not you, it’s me. I would just like to sleep occasionally. We’ll get through this together, I promise! I tend to update Instagram and Twitter more often than my blog, so you can catch me there if you really miss me.

Don’t worry, I’m still running and training for my upcoming races and loving it! I’ve got a half marathon planned for next Saturday and I feel excited and ready. Mark (the husband) has switched gears a little bit and is focusing on Insanity and doing awesome with it. We’re both running in the Firefly 5K this Saturday a long with a bunch of friends, so it’s sure to be a fun time!

Leave a Reply

