The beauty of a long run

27 Jul

This morning at 7:00 AM, I met a group of runners from the Albany Running Exchange at a different section of the bike path than I usually run. The run was posted with a goal of 13 miles.

I woke up ready to get out there and run long! I’m glad I decided to go because it was a beautiful morning and this view was totally worth it.
riverrunWe kept a 9:30-10:00 pace, which is slower than I typically go for a long run, but a change of pace is good once in a while. (Ba dum bum)

The slower pace allowed for some great conversation and a general feeling of ease. I got to know a few new people over our miles together and that’s always a wonderful thing.
riverrunAfter we hit the 13th mile marker (approx 2:07 total time) and stopped, I felt like I could have gone longer. The sun was shining, my mind and body were in complete sync and I was running with a happy heart.
runpathThat’s the beauty of a long run. When you are connected to self (and maybe others) and fully present for every moment of the run, it transforms into a journey.

Just keep running.

2 Responses to “The beauty of a long run”

  1. Cyanne (RunStretchGo) July 28, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    Looks like a gorgeous run!

    • Nikki July 28, 2013 at 9:11 am #

      It sure was! 🙂

Leave a Reply

