Monday Meditation: The edge of fatigue

22 Jul

What a sleepy Monday this has been! I started a new part-time job that has me out the door an hour earlier than usual and it’s going to take some caffeine time to get used to that. In the spirit of feeling tired, I found this great quote about fighting through fatigue for this week’s meditation.

“Even purely recreational runners can come to know what racers know: that the most enjoyable times in running come when you are teetering on the edge of fatigue but hang on a moment longer, and a moment longer, and at some point discover not only that you can bear it but that you can even pick it up a bit. That is the greatest thrill in endurance athletics – a greater thrill, even, than winning. And it is available to the totally non-competitive runner, so long as you’re willing to avail yourself to the opportunity – the freedom – to experiment with levels of fatigue.”

-John Jerome, The Elements of Effort

Throughout last week, I was battling a lot of fatigue and I feel like I’m slowly coming out of it. Even still, tonight’s run started to feel tough during mile 4. I held on and finished feeling more energized than I had the entire day.

Running has a way of setting things right again.

This constant dance with fatigue described in the quote is the worst and best thing about running (and racing). In longer distances, there is always that point (or multiple points) where you have to fight through and tell yourself to just keep running, just a little more. And then somewhere, from deep within, strength you didn’t realize you had propels you forward. And then as soon as the miles end, exhilaration outweighs fatigue and it was all worth it.

Happy running!

3 Responses to “Monday Meditation: The edge of fatigue”

  1. Jenny July 23, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    Unfortunately my fatigue is a product of my auto immune malfunction, lol. I don’t let it stop me from training, but I do let it dictate how much walking or slow running I do. I get dizzy and faint (like almost blacking out), so I take a few moments to collect and start running or walking again. I figure if I can keep with my training, no matter how slow… I can at least finish these next 2 halfs, then take a break…and start seeing doctors….

    • Nikki July 23, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

      Oh no! That doesn’t sound good. You definitely need to take care of yourself! That’s a whole different kind of fatigue. I’m sorry you are going through that 😦

      • Jenny July 26, 2013 at 9:01 am #

        It’s a part of life I guess! It does suck, but I am getting through. One crappy run at a time =) lol

Leave a Reply

