Oh, the humidity!

11 Jul

My body seriously needed sleep last night so I didn’t even set my alarm for an early morning run today. I was looking forward to a twilight run tonight instead. Alas, I was stuck at work even later than usual for a Thursday so the run did not happen. Oh well, such is life.

Last night I did get an evening run in, though. Since I’m racing Sunday, I’m now in easy mode and took this run at a nice comfortable pace.

20130711-225848.jpg
Holy humidity, Batman.

As I went along, it felt more and more like I was wearing a hot, wet blanket over my head. Yuck.

Good thing I did a core circuit before running, otherwise I would have drowned in a pool of my own sweat on my exercise mat.

I think they’ve decided to rename this area of the US the Northeast Tropics.

The August issue of Runner’s World had an article about the affect of humidity on performance and risk for heat illnesses. Relative humidity above 40% starts to impact performance. As temps rise from 75 – 90 degrees, heart rate can go up 10 to 20 bpm. Add the humidity and your perceived effort is magnified even more.

Considering the humidity has been in the 80-90+% range as of late, it doesn’t take a rocket cardiologist to figure out that the ol’ ticker is working hard to keep your body moving.

There are rumors from the weatherman that there will be some relief from this oppressive humidity soon. Fingers crossed for comfortable weather Sunday morning!

4 Responses to “Oh, the humidity!”

  1. Jenny July 12, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    One day the humidity was virtually 100% here, I swear it was like walking through butter!! It broke that night after a massive storm =)
    I hope you get a break from the humidity! If not for a while, at least for your race!

    • Nikki July 13, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      Yuck! It seems to be breaking, hopefully tomorrow will be comfortable!

  2. Sarah @ Sweet Miles July 12, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    Loved this. Gah the humidity is KILLER!!!

    • Nikki July 13, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      I’m looking forward to the cool Fall runs!

Leave a Reply

