Tempo Tuesday?

9 Jul

This morning’s run started out like any other. You know – head out at a comfortable pace with a general idea of how far I want to go without any specific workout in mind. But today, something magical happened.

tempo2 7_9My first mile felt comfortable but strong. When I glanced down at my Garmin in my second mile, I noticed my pace had gotten faster since finishing the first. And it felt great.

I checked a little while later and I was holding steady. Then, as mile 3 approached I was going a little faster still.

Hmm…OK. I see where this is going. Let’s do this…

Without intending it to be, this run turned into a progressive workout. The best part about it is that it felt completely natural. I pushed myself to a near sprint at the very end to finish strong (that felt less natural).

tempo 7_9

Amazing things can happen when you quiet your mind and let your body take over.

I felt absolutely incredible after finishing this run. A lovely mix of sweaty, breathless, and exhilarated. I was also really proud that I actually managed to achieve a negative split for the first time in, I don’t know…ever?!

morganfreeman

I mean…

Combined with the great 10 mile run I had on Saturday, I feel like I’m in a much better space mentally and physically for this weekend’s 15K.

Ever have a run you felt Morgan Freeman should narrate?

2 Responses to “Tempo Tuesday?”

  1. Sarah @ Sweet Miles July 11, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Wow! Way to go on those times!! I hope one day I can be that fast! That always feel amazing when you have enough energy left so spring to the very end and finish STRONG!!! Morgan Freeman narrating a run would be PRICELESS!

    • Nikki July 11, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      Thanks! It’s taken me a very long time to reach those times! Having patience with yourself is key. Morgan Freeman should narrate all runs…

Leave a Reply

