Monday Meditation: The greatest gift

8 Jul

This quote, found here really needs no introduction or explanation. Just read and let it soak in…

“I had never realized what running had provided for me as I was growing up. Now, I consider it my greatest gift and thank God for the ability to run whenever I am appreciative enough to think of what my life would be like without it.

Now, I don’t run because I’m on a team, because I’m trying to lose weight, or because health professionals say I should. I run, literally, because I have to. Running everyday is as basic to me as breathing and eating. My spirit would die of starvation without it. Not only does it invigorate me physically, but it is also my sole time of uninterrupted contemplation and gives me the stamina to complete the other more arduous tasks of everyday living. In retrospect, once my running had decreased to sporadically, and then to never, I became a different person — of course physically, but also mentally and spiritually. After college, when I entered the ‘real world’ I became apathetic, perplexed, and lost by its uncertainty and inconstancy. Because I could do anything, I did nothing. I had no professional calling, no satisfying relationships, and most importantly no outlet for the pitfalls of life. I became lethargic and reclusive.

I don’t know how or why but thankfully, by the grace of God or some other mystical presence, I rediscovered the gift of running. I picked it up again just as mysteriously as I abandoned it, and it resuscitated me. It provides a daily meditation for me, allows me to achieve a perspective on both the real and mystical world in which we live – a perspective I can gain through no other activity.”

– Erin Murphy

From How Running Changed My Life: True Stories of the Power of Running by Garth Battista

This really hit home for me considering my own personal journey back to running after college. It’s almost like she’s been reading my diary…hmm.

Enjoy your week and just keep running. 🙂

One Response to “Monday Meditation: The greatest gift”

  1. courage2run July 9, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Wow! That was really well written! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

