It happened again and retail therapy

28 Jun

Late this morning, I met a friend from the Albany Running Exchange for a 10 mile run. (He couldn’t meet before 10 AM). I was a little nervous after how my last long run went, but the weather wasn’t quite as brutal today so I was optimistic.

I prepared for my run as usual with fuel and hydration, sipping nuun occasionally while on the run. Starting out, I felt great and my friend and I chatted on at a comfortable pace. The sun stayed behind clouds for the most part and there was a breeze. At the halfway point, I still felt pretty good. It wasn’t until mile 7 that I started to struggle a little bit. At mile 8.5, I had to stop and walk for a little while. I was able to jog the last mile, but I felt pretty crummy when we stopped. Of course, my running buddy didn’t seem to be affected at all.

I’m feeling pretty down about this, you guys. I will be certain to make my next long run as early in the morning as possible, no matter what. If the next one goes wrong still… OK, I don’t want to think about that.

I started to feel better after lunch and then I did a little shopping. Retail therapy cures all, right? I finally bought an exercise ball after talking about how much I should get one for like…2 years.

exerciseballThis is a great addition to our growing exercise equipment collection because last week I bought Mark his very own yoga mat for Just Because Day. It even has a manly tribal symbol on it! Now he doesn’t have to steal mine to do ab work.

yogamatsMy favorite purchase today was this Franco Sarto cross-body bag. I’ve been looking for a bag like this for traveling and this was a pretty good steal at $24.99.

bag

I’ll be testing it out this weekend because we are off on another adventure! See everyone on Monday!

One Response to “It happened again and retail therapy”

  1. katie July 1, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Don’t let a bad run (or two) get you down! you went out there and ran 10 miles! The weather has been brutal hot and humid and running after 10 is a death wish – Better hydrating and earlier run and you will be back at it in no time!

Leave a Reply

