Monday Meditation: Expand the day

24 Jun

Happy Monday, friends! There’s a lot to tell you about the weekend’s events, but for now I’ve only got time to send out a little runspiration to start the week.

This was recently posted by Gibson’s Daily Running Quotes and I couldn’t resist snatching it up:

“When you run in the morning, you gain time. It’s like stretching 24 hours into 25. You may need to sleep less and get up earlier, but if you can get by that, running early seems to expand the day.”

-Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon founder

I have mentioned this previously, but I never used to be a morning person. I was a self-proclaimed night owl who would rather stay up all night and sleep in as late as possible, especially on the weekends. Running and exercise would be put off until late morning or in the evening (or another day). As life became more and more real (read: big girl job, adult responsibilities, etc.) it became pretty clear that if I was going to fit running into my life, I’d have to become an early riser.

If there is one thing we all wish we had more of, it’s time. If there was a way to create time and package it to sell, it’d be a hot commodity. Just think about how often you’ve said to yourself, “If only I had more time.” How many memories have you passed by or runs have you skipped because you simply didn’t have time? Or so you thought.

There is time, if you’re willing to make the adjustment.

When I run at sunrise, the day seems to stretch out before me. I am more energized and ready for what the day might bring. When I return home, I’m not anxiously trying to decide between running or taking care of business. I have more time to focus on other important things in my life.

Getting out of bed early may be difficult painful at times, but I consider it a small price to pay for that extra time at the other end of the day.

sunrise 5_7It’s a little bit like magic.

2 Responses to “Monday Meditation: Expand the day”

  1. Amanda June 24, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Running in the morning is seriously amazing. Glad you’ve converted 🙂

    • Nikki June 24, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      It sure is! I converted last year and I wouldn’t go back.

Leave a Reply

