Rise and Run Love

21 Jun

It’s the first  official day of Summer and it’s a beautiful sunny day here! Let’s just hope the nice weather sticks around and we don’t get anymore Autumn temperatures in June. A beautiful Summer Friday seems like a good day to recap this week’s workouts as I relax on the porch with some fruit.

This week was definitely much more active than last and it’s been great! Mark is working hard on his 5K training and I’m building my mileage back up for an upcoming 15K and half marathon. We’ve been getting up at 5:30 AM at least 3 times a week to get our workouts in and the morning weather has been perfect!

photo 1To accommodate each of our mileage goals, we start out together and then split off when it’s time for me to run longer. When I get back home, we stretch and every other day we work our core. So far, this arrangement has been working out and I’m really enjoying running side by side with my husband!

runlove2He’s even lovingly trash talking that he’s going to beat my 5K goal first and run a marathon before me! Isn’t he hilarious?!

riseandrunloveHere are the details on my workouts for the week:

Sunday – 8 miles | 1:11 total time | 8:55 avg pace

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – 4.03 miles | 34:57 total time | 8:40 avg pace

Wednesday – Hill repeats x10 (with a warm up and cool down): 3.57 miles | 31:28 total time | 8:49 avg pace;  8:00 abs circuit

Thursday – Rest

Friday – 2.3 miles | 20:11 total time | 8:47 avg pace; Full body strength circuit using lolofit Easy Abs, Easy Legs, and Easy Arms apps

photo 4

This Sunday I plan to go for 9 or 10 miles and I’m really looking forward to running long again. I haven’t been focusing too much on speed during the week as I’m helping Mark build his miles and I’m exploring some options for customized workouts to help me meet my goals. I’m considering having someone design me a plan, since I’m really not great at coming up with my own. I’m really interested in getting some track workouts in, but I feel kind of lost when I try to figure out what to do! There are plenty online, but I feel a little inept at tailoring them to my fitness level and goals. Maybe I should give my high school track coach a call…

Question for you: Do you have a running coach? Do you have any awesome speed workouts you’d like to share?

2 Responses to “Rise and Run Love”

  1. Fiona likes to blog June 22, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    Your speeds are already amazing! I’m training for a half in October and I am only just managing 10 minute miles and that’s only when I do a speed run. You must have worked really hard to get to where you are now, congrats!

    • Nikki June 24, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

      Thank you! It takes time to get speedier and consistency is key! Stick with it and you’ll get where you want to go. Best of luck in your training!

Leave a Reply

