Trying new things

19 Jun

What do you usually do immediately after snagging a PR at a 5K on a beautiful sunny day? Eat a nice lunch and relax? Jump in the pool? Well, if you’re me and it was last Saturday you would head straight to the park and try out a new water sport.

On Saturday, Eastern Mountain Sports was hosting a demo day at a local park for kayaks, standing upright paddleboards (SUPs), and bicycles. Mark enjoys canoeing, but has never attempted a kayak because he hasn’t been certain he could fit into one with his super long legs (he is 6’8″). Honestly, who wants to rent or buy a kayak only to find out you can’t fit your whole body in it?! This was the perfect opportunity to test it out.

To make the most out of the event, we headed there right after the 5K. I didn’t even change out of my sweaty race clothes! (Are you cringing?)

Even though I’ve kayaked before, we both gave a few models a test drive.

photo 1So many possibilities!

photo 2I would like to point out that I was slathering sunscreen on all day, yet I still ended up with a nice sunburn right on my hairline.

Check Mark out – his first time in a kayak and he’s a pro! I guess it does help that he knows how to paddle already…

photo 3And he even found one that he fits in pretty comfortably (not the one in the picture). So it looks like we might be taking a kayak trip in the near future. I better get to work on my paddling skills!

As we were talking kayak, I got the strange desire to try my luck on one of the paddleboards. I am the opposite of graceful when it comes to balance and coordination, so Mark and my dad were naturally surprised that I said I’d give it a whirl. I also have a small phobia of swimming in water that I can’t see the bottom of…

After getting the basic instructions from a very helpful EMS employee, I hopped on. You of course start on your knees, and I honestly thought about staying that way for the whole time. But…I eventually (sloooowly) stood upright and paddled awkwardly and stiffly back to shore!

photo 4It was fun to try something new and go outside my comfort zone a little! I can’t say that I’ll be getting on a SUP again anytime soon, but I’m glad I went for it. That’s the thing about trying something new. You may or may not discover a new activity or interest, but you might find out that you can hold your balance better than you thought.

As a summer challenge, I encourage you to try something you’ve never done before. It doesn’t have to be anything major or costly, just something you hadn’t considered or dismissed because you were afraid or didn’t think you had the ability. A book club, volleyball, swimming, a half marathon, skydiving…anything. Go outside your comfort zone and see what you discover.

Question for you: What new things have you tried recently? What will you try this summer?

Leave a Reply

