Race Recap: Strawberry Fest 5K

16 Jun

What a busy weekend! It seems like so much time has passed since running in the Strawberry Fest 5K yesterday morning! Before getting some much needed sleep, I wanted to write up a little recap of this event. This was the first year for this 5K and I hadn’t heard anything about it until a friend mentioned it a few weeks ago. I like supporting local charities and businesses, so I couldn’t resist!

It was a pretty small event (144 runners total) and the start and finish line was in the parking lot of a local restaurant. They had to move the course from its original route, but I think they did a decent job of finding another way.

As you saw in this post, I had taken a pretty, ahem, casual approach to running last week, so my personal expectations for this race were low.

Luckily, the weather was beautiful – the sun was out with a nice cool breeze. (Finally!)

strawberryready

Lucky # 99!

Looks like I was decked out in a lot of Brooks apparel!

runchat

Representing Boston Strong and #RunChat

For timing, they used an ankle bracelet with some kind of electronic chip in it. I’ve never seen a race timed in this way before and it was a little weird!

photo 1

What does this remind you of?

I started out right in front and almost immediately I felt thirsty. Unfortunately, they didn’t have water available for the runners at the start of the race, so I wasn’t able to take any last minute sips. Big mistake for me.

strawberrystartHere we go!

strawberrystart2I started out with the front of the pack and then found a strong pace for myself. A few people started passing me, but I didn’t let that force me to go faster than I knew I could. I ended up finishing mile 1 in under 7:00 and I felt good. I kept saying to myself, “Just  keep it here.” That worked for a little while until that whole thirsty thing started to hit me and I lost a little steam. I tried to get a sip of water at the water stop, but that’s hard to do when you’re trying to go fast. I struggled a little bit between around mile 2.

BUT…I kicked it in pretty good on the way in….

strawberryfinish

Finish strong

and I managed a hefty PR of 22:22! And that means 14-year-old me is within my reach!

That time was good enough to land me 4th female, 1st in my age group (21-39), and 18th overall. I won a $15 gift card to Road ID, which I’m very excited about!

strawberryaward

Getting my award

strawberryroadid

Can’t wait to order my Road ID!

One of the neat perks of being a runner in this event was a coupon for a free mini strawberry cheesecake cupcake! I made sure not to miss out on that.

cupcake

I wish it was full size…

Of course, I had to pick up some fresh strawberries as well. It was a Strawberry Fest after all!

strawberries

Mmmm!

Other swag for runners included a performance tee, water bottle, and bag full of coupons to use locally.

strawberryswagOverall, this was a fun event to take part in. Considering this was the first year they held a 5K, I’d say they did a pretty good job. There were plenty of volunteers, well marked course, police directing traffic at each intersection, fun awards for winners, and a few nice perks for all runners. A few things could be improved on for next year – such as not allowing parking in front of the restaurant where the start/finish was, having water available prior to the race, a more streamlined timing mechanism (it was 2 seconds off at least) and offering other post-race refreshments (bananas, etc), to name a few.

On a final note, I am beyond excited that I am getting closer to my 5K goal! I feel like I know what I have to do to make it happen and I WILL!

8 Responses to “Race Recap: Strawberry Fest 5K”

  1. Diana June 17, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    Holy wow, you’re speedy! Great job! =)

  2. Amanda June 17, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    Dang, girl! You are beyond awesome. That is quite a PR!

    • Nikki June 17, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks! I’m just enjoying seeing myself as the one to beat and it’s really changing the experience for me.

  3. Sarah @ Sweet Miles June 17, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Oh my goodness, girl!!! WAY TO GO!! 22:22 is impressssssive! That was a crazy age group since the race was so small! 21-39 would be so intimidating to me! Congrats again!!

    • Nikki June 17, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

      Thank youuuuu!

  4. runnerontherise June 20, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    Just over 22 minutes?! That’s incredible! Great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

