Rain, rain go away.

13 Jun

Put this cartoon on repeat for the majority of the past couple of weeks and you have an idea of what life in the Northeast has been like:

All this rain is seriously messing with my mojo, friends. I mean…don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed a run or two in the rain as I never have before, but…

This. Is. Ridiculous.

The weatherman just said we’ve had more than 10 inches of rain in the past three weeks. Seriously. Enough is enough, Mother Nature.

Despite this non-stop rain nonsense, life and work have been super busy. Busy is a good thing and it has kept me sane this week, but that means very little time for blogging!

And also…I’m in a little bit of a slump. I’ve definitely enjoyed getting a couple more runs in with Mark this week, but overall I haven’t been as motivated to really get out there and do my thing. Inspiration for blog posts is kinda lacking, too. (Hence the gimmicky animated gifs designed to distract you…)

Thankfully, the June Stridebox came to save me and give me something I can write about next (phew!). Also, there appears to be some sunshine in the forecast for this weekend and I have a 5K race on Saturday. I’m hoping this will reboot my mood and motivation!

Question for you: How do you bust a running or blogging slump?

2 Responses to “Rain, rain go away.”

  1. genext13 June 13, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Change the route. Change the music. Add music, or take music out of the workout. Change the type of run. If all you do is pace running, throw in some intervals or a tempo run. Shorten the run and throw in a race pace run. The point? Do something different. That is what I do to break a slump. Sometimes I just break up the slump by making the run a purposeful run on an errand. I run up to the Sports Authority or the RoadRunner store to get a few gels for those low energy days when I need to do a speed run. Different is the key. It allows your brain to engage the prefrontal cortex and forces you to adapt. This is important any so you can run your races better. I am always sure to change something once every other week at the longest. I usually run a different route each week to mix things up.

    • Nikki June 14, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

      Good tips! If only there was a sports store within reasonable running distance from me!

Leave a Reply

