Getting ready to run the Freihofer’s 5K…in 90 degree weather

31 May

Tomorrow is the 35th Freihofer’s Run for Women 5K, a very popular and internationally known race. There will be over 5,000 women, from elite professionals to recreational runners. And the forecast is 90F with about 60% humidity and very little wind or cloud cover. Yikes.

First, I’m keeping my expectations relatively low. Since humidity and I are the opposite of friends, I know it’s going to be challenging for me to maintain a fast pace. I’m definitely not trying to PR tomorrow. I would just like to run a strong race without passing out or melting into a puddle.

As soon as the weather report made it pretty clear that this weekend would be a scorcher, I started searching for a light, moisture-wicking tank top to wear with a running skirt. (If I was a bit more comfortable with my body, I’d be rocking a sports bra and racing briefs, but that’s not going to happen.) Here’s what I ended up with:

20130531-215427.jpg

I’m also being careful to hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! This might be the first 5K I’ve ever run where I’ll take in water mid-race. I’ve got plenty of nuun to replenish electrolytes because I know I’ll be sweating like crazy. Other essentials for my race pack are a mini spray sunscreen, a pack of wipes, and lip balm.

20130531-215439.jpgI joined my BFF Vicki for a trip to the expo to pick up our bibs (mine is blue) and race swag. Olympic marathoner Joan Benoit Samuelson, who is running the race tomorrow, was signing autographs and I was able to say hi just before she was done!

20130531-220909.jpgIt was pretty cool to meet someone so inspirational to women’s running! She signed, “May the many miles of life be good to you.” Love that!

20130531-215503.jpgSince the run is sponsored by major baking company Freihofer’s, the race swag includes a loaf of bread and a box of chocolate chip cookies! Any race that hands out free cookies is a winner in my opinion.

20130531-215514.jpgWhen I got home, Mark was busy grilling an amazing dinner of grilled BBQ chicken, grilled avocados, grilled sweet potatoes, and fresh caprese salad. It was delicious and filling! Perfect for a hot summer night.

20130531-215451.jpgNow it’s time to get some rest and be ready to go in the morning!

3 Responses to “Getting ready to run the Freihofer’s 5K…in 90 degree weather”

  1. xjcar May 31, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    I’m in your photo of Joan! Top right talking to my new BFF as we pass out bibs and t shirts! Have a great run tomorrow. I plan on taking it slow 🙂

    • Nikki May 31, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

      Oh my goodness! If you happen to see me, say hi! I like making new BFFs. Have a great run and good luck!

  2. Jenny June 3, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    How did the race go!?
    I can’t believe they gave you a loaf of bread, was it expired…lol

Leave a Reply

