A new goal…

28 May

Now that the busiest part of May has passed (you know, almost all of it), I can finally tell you all about my new goal.

A couple of weeks before the Jog4Jugs Half Marathon, I decided to dig up my old cross country records from freshman year of high school. I wasn’t able to find much online since they probably start deleting that stuff off the servers after a bazillion years, but I found a snippet from an invitational meet.

In 1999, I ran a 5K in 22:02.

My current PR as an adult runner is 23:19.

Hmm…

And they say your biggest competition is yourself…

So what’s my new goal?

I am going to beat my 14-year-old self.

It may not be this Saturday at the Freihofer’s 5K (especially with over 4,000 other women running and a 90F degree weather forecast…) or even this Summer. But I WILL do it.

When I ran XC in high school, I used to imagine targets on the back of runners ahead of me as motivation. My 14-year-old self now has a target on her back.

I know I can shave 1:30 off my 5K time, I just need to make a plan and stick with it! Here goes…

Any advice from you speedy runners?

7 Responses to “A new goal…”

  1. courage2run May 29, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    You can do it! Awesome motivation!

    • Nikki May 29, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      Woo hoo! Thanks.

  2. Sarah @ Sweet Miles May 29, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Girl! Your PR is awesome and inspiring in and of itself!! You can totally ram it up and accomplish your goal! I can’t imagine running a 22 or less 5k, maybe one day! I love the quote you posted…it’s all about YOU!!!

    • Nikki May 29, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Thanks! That little teenage me is not going to see it coming!

  3. Greg Wittemeyer May 31, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    Advice: Run faster? Good luck tomorrow and stay HYDRATED. Love ya

    • Nikki May 31, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      Haha…thanks for the wise advice, Dad. Why didn’t I think of that?

  4. Carol May 31, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    Good luck tomorrow Nikki – I’ll be thinking of you all morning and saying a little prayer that you don’t pass out! Hope it is still cooler out when you all run. LOVE YOU – sorry we can’t be there this time. xoxox

Leave a Reply

