What runners do on rainy days

26 May

This week has been a little light on the blogging, but if you’re wondering what I’ve been up to lately, I’m going to fill you in. For one thing, I’ve been staring at pictures of Cape Cod and wishing that trip didn’t have to end. Besides that and being busy with life in general, I’ve been getting in a lot of technology-free runs to keep up with the Run Free for Me in May Challenge (see image on the right).

photo 6Monday – A hot, humid, sweat-tastic run of a little less than 4 miles (a route I run regularly)

Tuesday – Rest

Wednesday – Same route as Monday but with a little light rain and an ab circuit later on (I really need to get back into my strength training…)

Thursday – A 4ish mile trail run with the Albany Running Exchange as part of the Summer Trail Run series

Friday – Rest

Saturday – 6.5-ish super soaked miles followed by some core work and delicious crepes

photo 4

Bananas, strawberries, whipped cream, and Nutella wrapped in a tasty crepe with a honey-vanilla chai latte. Mmmmm. Post-run heaven.

Sunday – A fast, strong run of 3.3 miles. I wanted to gauge my progress, so I had my mapmyrun app recording and checked it when I finished. Turns out, I’m getting faster! I don’t know if it’s all the hills I did not so long ago or if it’s this whole “run free” thing, but I like it.

photo 7Let’s rewind to that super-soaked run I mentioned from Saturday. It was raining pretty good, but I decided I wasn’t going to let that stop me. I mean, I used to let rain be an acceptable excuse for skipping a run but long distance running has made me approximately 72% more hardcore.

rainhardcoreTo keep the rain off me, I made sure to wear this Columbia rain jacket, even though I knew it was not very breathable.

photo 1As I was running, the rain got heavier and heavier…

photo 2…but I actually found that I enjoyed it. Running has helped me appreciate many simple things much more than I did before. Instead of avoiding discomfort, I’ve learned to embrace it.

embracetherainI felt like I could have run 10 miles and I would have been happy to (I’m already missing those LSDs). But after I’d gone somewhere near 6 miles, I realized that my rain jacket was not waterproof at all. I was soaked through to my bottom layer and I was worried my phone would drown in the inside pocket. I also didn’t have any kind of fuel on me. Sadly, I had to turn back home.

After I dried myself off, I did what any other runner would do in similar circumstances. I immediately started searching for a proper running rain jacket. My first instinct was to check Brooks‘ sales page. Well, not only did I find myself  some rain gear, I filled my cart with some other sale items and qualified for the free t-shirt. (If you’re familiar with the current promotion going on with Brooks, you can do the math…)

I also signed up for two more races…

The Strawberry Fest 5K on June 15th and the Camp Chingachgook Challenge Half Marathon on August 10. Yes, that’s right, another half! I’ve become half-crazy. And I’m loving it. 🙂

What do you do when it rains? Do you still run?

2 Responses to “What runners do on rainy days”

  1. xjcar May 26, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    you’re more hard core than me! I kept waiting for it to break a bit before heading out for a 14 miler and it never did. It only got wetter and windier. I’m getting ready to head out now for my run 🙂

  2. Jenny May 26, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    I love the e-card! It is so true, running in the rain makes you way more bad ass!
    The thing about non rain runners is that they miss out on the fact that it is way more refreshing than being soaked in sweat!

Leave a Reply

