May I have another Stridebox?

23 May

As you could probably tell, May has been a very busy month around here! It seems like quite a while ago that I came home to the May StrideBox gloriously waiting on my doorstep.

maystrideboxwm

When I opened the box, I immediately broke into a happy dance.

Good thing no one was around to see that…

The reason for the ridiculous happy dance? This month’s StrideBox was PACKED with awesome! Just take a look at everything they stuffed into this little box:

image

As I started pulling out the items, I noticed there was a pretty large box on the bottom. It’s a Klitch footwear clip! This is a really cool device that holds onto your shoes and clips onto your bag. That means no more wet, dirty, or sweaty shoes stinking up your bag or taking up all the space. If you didn’t get a May StrideBox but you want a Klitch, they are offering 20% with the code SPRING.

image_1

Considering they retail for $14.99, this StrideBox paid for itself with this item alone! Pretty awesome if you ask me. (And you did, didn’t you?)

Multiple endurance fuel samples were included in this month’s box in several forms.
image_2

  1. Jelly Belly Sport Beans in assorted flavor – Carbs, electrolytes, vitamins and natural sugar give these beans their performance power. I’ve tried these before and they just seem like candy to me. I can’t say I noticed much of a difference, but I’ll give them another go.
  2. Honey Stinger Energy Chews in Cherry Cola (new flavor) – Organic, gluten free, non-GMO ingredients, caffeine, and soft consistency make these appealing. The flavor is really tasty and they do seem to give a burst of energy. Since I can’t chew and run at the same time, I’d probably use these as a pre-run fuel (or snack….).
  3. VFuel Endurance Gel in Peach Cobbler – I’ve heard some buzz about Vi Fuel’s tasty natural flavors and easily digestible ingredients, so I am excited to try this out. They use dextrose instead of fructose, which is more expensive but easier on the tummy. Check out their website for tons of information.
  4. Bonk Breaker Bonk Bites energy bar in Peanut Butter and Jelly – Bonk Breaker is the official energy bar of the Ironman Triathlon Series that are packed with “high energy and high protein.” They also claim to bake them fresh daily – how awesome!

Next up is Betty Lou’s Just Great Stuff Bar. These are vegan, gluten-free, and packed with antioxidants. The flavor I got was Cacao + Acai. It’s all fruit, nuts, rice protein, and cacao nibs.

image_4

I ate it as a side to my banana bread english muffin the other day. It definitely looks a little strange and the nut bits give it an odd texture, but it tasted pretty good. I’d be willing to try the other flavors – Superberry Acai, Fruit and Veggie, and Chocolate Dream Greens.

image_21

One of the items I’m really excited to try is the Perfect Fit protein powder by Tone It Up. From their website:

“Perfect Fit Protein by Tone It Up™ provides clean, organic nutrition – and helps to burn fat, shape a lean physique and aid in muscle recovery. Each delicious serving contains 15 grams of protein and is Organic, Gluten-Free, Raw, Vegan, Non-GMO, Kosher, Non-Fat, Low in Sodium, and Free of Sugar, Dairy, Lactose, Cholesterol, Soy, Corn, Wheat and Allergens.”

image_7Sounds great! They also have many recipes on their site with creative ways to enjoy the benefits of Perfect Fit beyond adding it to boring old water. I’m thinking strawberry shortcake protein pancakes might be the way for me to go…

As I mentioned in my previous review of StrideBox, we share the same mantra! They added this little sticker in the box and I love it. If only I could figure out where to put it! Any ideas?
image_12

You know that ickiness that happens to water bottles after a while? Well, Bottle Bright from Clean Ethics is a chlorine-free and non-toxic tablet of wonderfulness that will clean those bad boys right up. Just fill your hard-to-clean vessel with water, drop a tab in, wait 15 minutes, and rinse. Think that’s cool? Well, for every purchase made they donate the same amount of Bottle Bright to people in need of clean water containers. Now that’s ethical.

image_13

And now the last item: Pro-Tec Athletics Blister Bands. The LiquiCell technology creates a blister to cushion areas where rubbing occurs so your body doesn’t have to! It’s kind of like adding a little pocket of skin to your skin. Fortunately, I don’t usually get blisters from running (thanks to good socks and shoes) but I could see myself trying these out in a pair of flats that tend to rub me the wrong way.

image_14Whew – that was a lot of stuff! According to the Stride Guide, the retail value of the contents in May’s box was just under $28! Since the monthly subscription is only $15, that’s nearly a 50% savings! Even if you don’t fall in love with every item in the box, it’s worth the money to try out new products that would cost a lot more to buy individually.

20130522-204538.jpg

One last cool thing about the new StrideBox packaging is that it is made from 100% recycled materials. They included an announcement detailing the change and encouraging subscribers to reuse or recycle the packaging. Well, StrideBox, I am happy to report I was already reusing my first box as a home for my growing pile of running gear!
image_19Who else got the May StrideBox? If you haven’t subscribed yet and are considering it, I say go for it! 

One Response to “May I have another Stridebox?”

  1. Jennifer {Healthy Wifestyles} May 24, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    You will love the Perfect Fit!! It’s so, so good in the pancakes and PB Protein Balls!!

Leave a Reply

