Monday Meditation: Race Day

13 May

What a weekend! As it turned out, I didn’t spend as much time with my feet up as I was hoping for after Saturday’s half marathon. It’s OK though, because I think all the moving around and busy-ness kept the post-race stiffness somewhat at bay. I hope all you Mother Runners out there had a great Mother’s Day!

***

Sometimes in life the universe puts things in our path at opportune times, right at the moment you need them. For instance, an inspirational quote about racing right before you are about to toe the line. At other times, the universe is on a delay and that quote finds it way to you after the race. Today’s meditation comes from the latter.

This quote found it’s way to me via Gibson’s Daily Running Quotes on Sunday (you know, after race day) and as soon as I read it, I instantly wished I had this on repeat for the last few miles of the half marathon.

“Come race day, as nervous as you might be, try to relax and enjoy the experience. Yes, it’s going to hurt, but most things worthwhile in life usually come with a measure of pain. Remain flexible – things might not go as anticipated. There will be unforeseen circumstances encountered along the way, seemingly insurmountable challenges will plague you, demons will enter your mind and tell you to quit. Don’t listen. Keep going. Run when you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must – just never give up!”

Dean Karnazes, Ultramarathon Man

Dean, where were you at mile 11.75 on Saturday?! (Spoiler alert) It was around that time that my legs started to tell me they wouldn’t mind if I curled up alongside the road and skipped that last enormous hill. No, I didn’t walk or stop, but the thought honestly did cross my mind. It was words similar to those of elite endurance athlete Dean Karnazes that took over my brain and got me through the last couple of miles.

If you have ever attempted a long distance race, you quickly become to understand the psycho-physiological challenges that they present. You also become familiar with the overwhelming sense of accomplishment as soon as that finish line nears and then comes the pull of desire for doing it all over again, and again, and again.

Just get yourself to that finish line!

Leave a Reply

