Jog4Jugs Race Kit

10 May

The Jog4Jugs Half Marathon goes off tomorrow morning at 9:00 AM! I’m feeling all sorts of mixed emotions as the pre-race jitters have set in.

I’ve been obsessively checking the weather all week, hoping that the forecast for rain and thunderstorms was going to change. Unfortunately…there continue to be rain clouds and showers filling up the hourly forecast. Keeping my fingers crossed for a dry race.

As promised, here is my race kit!

kit

  1. Under Armour Power in Pink Race for the Ribbon Heat Gear t-shirt
  2. Under Armour See Me Go Run hat (I bought this to keep the potential rain off my face)
  3. Nathan Swift hydration belt
  4. Brooks PR Mesh Skort II
  5. Brooks Pure Cadence running shoes
  6. C9 by Champion sunglasses
  7. Pro Compression Marathon socks
  8. Garmin Forerunner 110 (not pictured)

I might throw on a long sleeve tech shirt if it’s chilly and I’ve got a whole bag of dry clothes and shoes packed up for post-race warmth!

Other race essentials:

essentials

  1. Gu gels (I might pack 3 just in case)
  2. nuun tablets
  3. Designer Whey protein shake (for post-race)
  4. Body Glide anti-chafe stick
  5. Hammer Lips wintermint chapstick

We had a nice dinner of pasta with a side of multigrain ciabbata bread (carbs on carbs) and now it’s relaxation and stretching before an early bedtime.

Ready to race! (I think…)

7 Responses to “Jog4Jugs Race Kit”

  1. Nikki May 10, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Looks good! Have a great race!

  2. Diana May 11, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    Good luck!!!

  3. Janel Kretser May 12, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Why hammer lips chapstick? Will any do?
    Just curious…..

    • Nikki May 12, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      The Hammer Lips came in the April StrideBox and I really like it. So I keep it in my running stuff and use it on the long runs. Any favorite lip balm will do!

  4. Janel Kretser May 12, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    Again, new to your blog and running. I wasn’t sure what StrideBox was so I looked it up quick, do you feel that its worth the investment for someone who is very new to running?

    • Nikki May 13, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      Check out my April Stridebox review: https://runbreathebe.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/this-stridebox-rocks/

      And I will be writing about the May StrideBox soon, so you can take a look at the contents and decide if you think it might be worth it. I think they also have a one-time only option and I know you can cancel a monthly subscription any time with no fee.

Leave a Reply

