The last miles I will run…until Saturday

8 May

Hold on to your hats, friends! You’re about to read a very exciting boring blog post!

I would like to take a moment and give some serious props to my husband for making this giant dish of baked deliciousness:

mac and cheese

It was the creamiest, cheesiest baked mac and cheese I’ve ever experienced. I’d share the recipe, but Mark hid it from me so I couldn’t see the nutrition facts. Apparently, just looking at the ingredients will cause a clogged artery. Tasty!

Today was my last taper run before the Jog4Jugs Half Marathon. I did an easy 2 miles in the early morning sunshine and I was totally naked (ah hem, that means no Garmin and no iPhone). Last night, I was having a little soreness in my metatarsals (remember that ol’ MFI?) so I have been wearing my compression socks for extra support. I almost slept in them…

2miletaper wmEasy peasy.

Ellie was waiting patiently for me at the back door:

ellie waitsWhen I got to work, I had key lime pie for breakfast.

photo 4

Well…sort of. When you add graham crackers to yogurt it instantly turns to pie. I also recommend adding graham crackers to banana Chobani. Banana cream pie for breakfast. Boom.

To be sure my feet got all the TLC they needed, I wore my compression socks to work. As you can see, they went perfectly with my professional outfit.

socks at workIt must have been a good idea because the soreness has subsided. Maybe I should wear them every day…

Thanks for making it all the way down here without falling asleep, you’re a trooper. Isn’t taper week super exciting?!

What was the most exciting thing about your Wednesday?

7 Responses to “The last miles I will run…until Saturday”

  1. Nikki May 8, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    Whats the Jog4Jugs run all about? Sounds like something I might enjoy…

    • Nikki May 9, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Jog4Jugs is a small, local half marathon that supports breast cancer research. They feature awards for top 3 breast cancer survivor finishers as well as for gender/age groups. This is the 3rd year it has been run and it is set on a very hilly and challenging course in the countryside. I’ll have a lot more to say about it once I actually run it 🙂

  2. Diana May 9, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Good luck this weekend!!

    • Nikki May 9, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Thank you, I’ll need it!

  3. Running In Heels May 9, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    Love that you put graham crackers in your yogurt! I do the same thing and totally agree that it = instant pie 🙂

    • Nikki May 9, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      YES! I had TJ’s honey Greek yogurt with grahams in it and it was pretty good. Didn’t quite seem like pie though…

  4. thescarredrunner May 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    I thought I was the only one who wore compression socks at the most inappropriate times. Props!

Leave a Reply

