It’s taper time!

6 May

When I was training for my first half marathon, I followed the Hal Higdon Novice 2 training plan pretty closely. This time around, I only loosely based my training on that plan in terms of weekly mileage. For the most part, I kind of did my own thing and worked in a few tips from other half marathoners. We’ll see how that works out…

Anyway, now that the Jog4Jugs Half Marathon is on Saturday, that means it’s taper time!

Here is the plan:

Sunday – Cross training. Took a nice walk with friends and then got started on my Spring cleaning (it totally counts.)

Monday – 4 easy miles.

Tuesday – 3 easy miles.

Wednesday – 2 easy miles.

Thursday – Rest.

Friday – Rest.

Saturday – RACE!

I am giving myself two full days of rest because my legs need to be nice and fresh to tackle those hills. This morning’s run was another “naked” run for the Run Free For Me challenge. What better way to ensure I’m taking it easy than not obsessing over pace and distance? I just ran a usual route that is about 4-ish miles at a comfortable pace.

runnaked5_6Along with taper week comes carbo-loading, hydrating, and SLEEP!

Carbs

All of the tips I have been reading recommend increasing carbs during race week, especially the 2-3 days beforehand. It’s not just enough to load up with hordes of pasta the night before a race. It is better to start earlier and spread out the carb intake across meals for a few days. I made sure to plan a week’s worth of carb-tastic dinners, with the heaviest on Thursday night and eating a nice big carby lunch on Friday and keeping it a little lighter but carb-alicious for pre-race dinner. For more about carbo-loading before a race read this, this, and this.

Hydration

It’s important to be getting enough water in the days leading up to a half marathon, so I will be drinking lots of water. I will be avoiding any sodas or alcohol and limiting the espresso as much as possible (yeah, right). I will be sure to mix in nuun, as usual. Have to be sure to keep those electrolytes at a healthy level! For hydration tips, read this.

Sleep

Two nights before the race is the most important time to get in as much sleep as possible. Nerves are typically on high alert the night before, so it’s safe to say that I will be tossing and turning. All week I will be focusing on getting to bed at a decent time, but letting myself sleep in as long as possible on Friday is going to be the big goal.

Here’s a Monday Meditation that’s perfect for race week:

“Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about. “
– Patti Sue Plummer

If you have other race week tips, please share!

4 Responses to “It’s taper time!”

  1. Running In Heels May 6, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Yay for taper!! And I love Hal’s plans!! Like you, I loosely follow them after my first half was done, and I love the intermediate ones now!!

  2. Jenny May 6, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    I always run naked …>.>
    I am sure you will kick ass at the Half! I can not wait for a re-do on my half lol

  3. Nikki May 7, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Good tips! Everyone always gets the crazies during taper but I kind of like it. We work so hard to get to that point, I have no problem scaling back and sailing into race day. Enjoy the week!

    • Nikki May 7, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      Thanks! I am liking the feeling of easing into the race, especially since I know it’s going to be a challenging one!

Leave a Reply

