The Hills Series: One Last Time

1 May

The plan: Jump right out of bed at 5:30 AM, super pumped and raring to go. Tackle that beast of  a hill 5 more times, the last set of hill repeats before the Jog4Jugs Half Marathon next weekend. Run back to the car super pumped and raring to go.

What actually happened: Alarm goes off. Anxiety. I tap my husband on the shoulder and tell him I didn’t sleep well and maybe I should just wait until later. He says all sleepy-like, “Do it anyway, you know you’ll feel better when you’re done.” Damn, he saw right through me. Up and at ’em and off I went at 5:50 AM!

  • Warm up: 1 mile to the bottom of the hill, light stretch, turn on hill-busting music
  • Hill repeats: Go up at medium-hard effort, use all positive mantras in my pep-talk arsenal, easy down, repeat 5x
  • Cool down: 1 mile back to the car, light stretch
  • Total mileage: 3.6
  • Drive home: Finish my bottle of nuun water, breathe
  • Home: Stretch, hydrate, shower, feel good that I didn’t put off the workout

Unlike last time, I was not going to let self-doubt get the best of me. It tried to creep in, but I was determined! This workout was all about making it count and reminding myself that I can and will make it through this hilly half marathon.

Going UpNo more hill or speed workouts in this training cycle! After my long run this Saturday morning, it will be all about the taper.

Now that this last hill workout is behind me, I can go home and enjoy a beautiful evening with my husband. The weather forecast is sunny with a 100% chance of ice cream.

4 Responses to “The Hills Series: One Last Time”

  1. Diana May 1, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    I *love* it when ice cream is in the forecast! 😉 Good job on those hills!!

  2. Jenny May 2, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    We are starting hills this month!!! Did you find it made you faster? I swear I am slowing down more and more!

    • Nikki May 3, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Yes, it has made me faster! I am just hoping it has also improved my endurance for hills so I make it through this race!

      • Jenny May 6, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

        Sweet! Good to hear!!!
        I am positive that it will help your endurance with hills 😉

Leave a Reply

