Reading material, a run, and sitting on a wall

30 Apr

Before talking about my latest run, I want to share a couple of articles with you that I recently read.

First, After Boston: A Run the Recovery, a powerful article written by Michael Cassidy, an Olympic marathon trials qualifier who ran Boston this year. The entire thing is incredible and inspiring, but this is my favorite excerpt:

“To run is to live. Running nourishes our muscles and nurtures our minds. It induces clarity of thought, vitality of physiology, and tranquility of emotion. It demands complete unity of body and spirit, it requires your legs, your lungs, your heart, your mind, but rewards all those parts too. It’s in this harmonious holism that we come to understand our true identities, our authentic selves. The universe’s uncertainty is distilled into a singularity: We exist in and of the moment. In the midst of entropy, serene bliss. In the midst of confusion, clarity. Surrounded by constraints, we are freed. Running creates.”

Chills.

Second, Being a Runner Does Not Make Me Crazy, a Hello Giggles blog post by Miriam Lamey. My husband sent me the link to this article a few weeks ago and it immediately struck a chord with me. I’m sure my fellow runners can relate. Here is how Miriam responds to those who call her “crazy” for running:

“I think one of my chosen hobbies instead makes me balanced. I think that I’ve learned discipline, the benefits of endorphins and good, old-fashioned enjoyment of being in and moving one’s body. I think that I’ve learned to be at peace with myself, given that on a 15-mile run, I’m with myself for two-plus hours. I think I have developed some pretty badass mental strength in order to keep going even when it hurts, I’m tired and/or it’s cold. And I also think that I found something healthy, free, fun, occasionally hilarious and definitely unique that brings me (mostly) joy.”

100% agreed.

***

Yesterday was one of those Mondays when you just know it’s not going to be a great one from the start. I went to sleep wayyyy too late and couldn’t force myself to open my eyes at 5:30 AM. I quickly rescheduled my run for after work and stayed in bed until the very last minute possible. Truth be T, the day sucked. The best thing about it was getting notifications that my orders from Running Warehouse, Under Armour, and Pro Compression had shipped. YAY!

Even my run was kind of, “meh.” It was damp and most of the run I was working hard to convince myself not to just stop and go to sleep. I ran for 42 minutes and made it 4.75 miles.

run2I took a break to have some salmon for dinner with Mark, then got on with leg and abs circuits from Running in Heels while watching 2 Broke Girls. Laughing while strength training makes it go by much easier. Or does it make it harder? I can’t decide.

This is me about halfway through the wall sit, trying to distract myself from the urge to just fall over.

wallsitOn to the abs:

I had every intention of doing each circuit twice through like it says to, but that whole eating dinner thing really slowed down my mojo and I just put pajamas on instead. Good choice, I’d say. 🙂

2 Responses to “Reading material, a run, and sitting on a wall”

  1. Diana April 30, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Sometimes, jammies are the best way to go. =)

  2. Amanda April 30, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    Ohhhh wall sits hurt so good!

Leave a Reply

