The long run and a photo shoot

28 Apr

What a beautiful and busy weekend! It seems Spring is finally here in New York’s Capital Region and we have been trying to take advantage of it by being outside as much as possible. Now that the weekend is winding down, I have a few moments to share the details of Saturday morning’s long run.

Mark came along to keep me company as my coach/photographer/biggest fan. I love when he bikes alongside, he is always so encouraging and it is nice to spend that time together.

coachmark wm

Before leaving the house, I safety pinned my hydration belt to my running skirt to keep it from riding up. I really think someone needs to start making running skirts with belt loops for this purpose. Or am I the only one who has ever thought of that? Maybe I should take out a patent on that idea…

safetypins wm

Belt loops would be a better solution.

Throughout the run Mark got a lot of great action shots! There are a couple hundred (no joke), so I’ll just share a few of my favorites. I’m very excited to have some new photos to play around with!

before_run_pose wm

Posing before the run (this is the only edited one, the rest are not yet)

powerup wm

Warming up  and obviously paying close attention to form

curveahead wm

More than halfway done

throughthewoods wm

Running through the woods

trees wm

Full trees ahead and feeling good

finished wm

Strong finish!

riverview wm

I really need some running sunglasses…

11 miles done wm

11 miles | 1:33:43 total time | 8:31 avg pace

Now that you’ve seen the photo essay version, I’ll tell you a little bit about the run. Technically, this is supposed to be a “long slow distance” (LSD) run. According to most training programs, you are supposed to run the LSD a minute or more slower than targeted race pace or at a conversational pace. There is some disagreement about this. For me, I tend to run the LSD a touch faster than what is traditionally recommended. This isn’t because I am ignoring advice, I just go with what feels good and listen to my body and my comfortable pace during my long runs seem to be getting faster. During this run I started just around 9:00/mile and was hitting around 8:20/mile after the halfway point and came in to finish at 7:46/mile. And yes, I was still able to hold a conversation!

I honestly felt really good after this run and I think the nuun, Gu gel, Pro Compression marathon socks, and Brooks Pure Cadence are a winning combination for me. The Body Glide really helped with the chafing situation.

I really want to love the bargain running skirt from Champion but the legs ride up too much. I just bought this skirt from Brooks because it has silicon grippers on the legs, so hopefully that problem will be solved!

Immediately after the run, I popped open a Designer Whey chocolate protein shake. It really hit the spot!

photo 3

And then we stopped at the local drive-in for (veggie) burgers and curly fries for lunch. That’s an appropriate recovery meal, right?

jjs recovery wm

Disclaimer: I am not a professional or coach by any means, I am only expressing what seems to be working for me. Do what’s right for you!

10 Responses to “The long run and a photo shoot”

  1. Nikki April 29, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    I always did my longs at whatever felt comfortable. Then when I started training with a group for Goofy they held us to painfully slow pace but I stuck with it because I wanted the company. It served me well and now that I am training on my own I actually slow down quite a bit on my LSD runs because I think there might be some truth to the theory!

    • Nikki April 29, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      Running with a group is great! I am going to try and go a little slower for the last long run before the race.

  2. Michelle @ Run Kiwi Run! April 29, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    The trail you were running on looks great! I also find myself running a bit faster than I should, but I figure if it feels okay it is good.

    • Nikki April 29, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      It’s a stretch of the bike path that runs along the river and through an old canalway, so there are some nice views to run by! For my last LSD before the half I’m going to try and slow it down a bit more…we’ll see!

  3. Britt @ BrittsRunningStyle April 29, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Love the photo shoot! I think you should patent this running skirt… or maybe velcro areas to make them stick?? Anyways, nice pace 🙂

    • Nikki April 29, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Thanks! I should market my idea to some running apparel companies, LOL

  4. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast April 29, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    I go by how I feel, too, and it’s usually slightly faster than recommended. But I also don’t run huge mileage weeks or 6 days/week, so my body isn’t as tired as it would be on some marathon plans. Looks like a gorgeous day!

    • Nikki April 29, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

      I run 4-5 times a week averaging about 20 miles, so it seems to work for me. I hope the weather for the half is just like this past weekend!

  5. Diana April 29, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    Running by feel makes sense to me! Sounds like you had a good run. I’m jealous that you’re so photogenic. I would have to hurt my husband if he took pictures of me on training runs. LOL

    • Nikki April 29, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      Oh trust me, there were plenty that will never, ever be allowed to be seen by anyone!

Leave a Reply

