Just keep running.

24 Apr

After writing about my self-doubt yesterday, I was really looking forward to running at sunrise this morning. I knew a nice recovery run would not only loosen my legs up, it would help me find some peace within myself. This run was all about meditating and positive thoughts.

I reflected on the words of my husband after watching a hawk flying over during our bike ride on Sunday. He told me that I was just like that hawk and that I would soar over those hills with ease. That image is now fixed in my brain.

At the end of a comfortable 4 miles, I turned around to see the sun starting to peek through the tree tops and everything just became calm. I snapped a photo and these words just came to me.
sunrise 4_24Enough with anxiety and doubt. The only expectation I will have of myself for this upcoming half marathon is that I won’t give up. I will just keep running. And that will be more than enough.

***

Thank you to everyone who has given me positive feedback and encouragement on this, it means a lot to me. This is why I love our community of runnerhood!

 

4 Responses to “Just keep running.”

  1. Diana April 25, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    You are going to rock it. You know it, you just need to remember it on race day.

  2. Britt @ BrittsRunningStyle April 26, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Good luck! You can do it!! Just Keep Running is a great mantra. Dory from Finding Nemo automatically pops into my head though! lol

    • Nikki April 26, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      LOL, same here. It still works though!

Leave a Reply

