A run with gratitude and a sigh of relief

19 Apr

Ever since returning from the busy-ness of today, we have been glued to the TV and holding our breath while the reports started coming in that the other suspect in the Boston Marathon bombing was surrounded. Now that he is in custody, a celebration is going on in the streets of Boston and the sense of relief is being felt across the nation. We will continue to pray that this horror is finally over and true healing can begin. Immense gratitude goes to the city, state, and federal law enforcement who have truly demonstrated heroism while this situation unfolded. My heart continues to go out to all those who have suffered because of this tragedy. To those who lost their lives – Martin Richard, Krystle Campbell, Lingzi Lu, and Officer Sean Collier, all of those injured on Monday, and their families. Stay strong, Boston!

***

This morning had brought more anxiety as I heard the news that the city of Boston was in lockdown. I was scheduled to meet a friend from the Albany Running Exchange for a 10 mile run and I had a hard time pulling myself away from the news. Before heading out the door, I made sure to put on a race shirt to join in the ongoing effort of runners united to show support.

stockadeathon WMNaturally, much of the conversation during the run focused on Boston. It seemed our pace matched both our anxiety about the impact of the events and our resolve to run stronger to prove that the runner’s spirit is unstoppable. We talked about upcoming races we were training for, our families, things we are grateful for. We didn’t take any breaks. The sun finally came out for a while around mile 8.

It was a beautiful run.

image_7At about mile 6 I noticed that I was starting to have a chafing problem going on under my running skirt. Still, I didn’t stop.

When we reached the end, I checked out my legs and I was bleeding! (I’ll spare you the worst photo). Even though this was painful, my thoughts turned to those who can no longer run due to their injuries. My pain no longer mattered.

chafing WMMy legs were intact and they had just carried me a powerful 10 miles. I felt incredibly grateful that I still have the ability to run.

run sun WMIn a few short weeks, I will be looking toward the finish line of my second half marathon. My husband, parents, and friends will be waiting for me there.

postrun WM

I will cross that finish line without fear and with my hand over my heart.

4 Responses to “A run with gratitude and a sigh of relief”

  1. genext13 April 19, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    You are beautiful. Get some glide and run strong. I look forward to reading about your 13.1!

  2. Diana April 20, 2013 at 5:10 am #

  3. Christine April 20, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I used to have a huge problem with chaffing too– Longer spandex did the trick for me!

    • Nikki April 21, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      This was a running skirt, so I can’t add longer spandex. I think pulling them down farther might work along with some body glide. I’ve never used it but now I think it’s going to be necessary!

Leave a Reply

