Accidental Duathlon

13 Apr

Today I was scheduled for a 9 mile run as part of my half marathon training but I didn’t feel like doing it solo. I managed to convince my friend Jaimie to join me and she agreed to ride my bike while I ran. She’s doing the Jog4Jugs half marathon also, but is taking it easy due to some injuries.

As a warm up, I biked the 2.25 miles to the entrance of the bike path where Jaimie was waiting to meet me. It was colder than predicted, so I ended up wearing capris with my compression socks. This made for a really sweet dorky outfit that I did indeed wear to both the post office and bank for a couple of quick errands along the way.

Dorky WMI filled my hydration belt with Strawberry Lemonade nuun water, vanilla bean GU gel, Hammer Lips wintermint chapstick (a la April Stridebox), and my iPhone bumping the Latin Workout station on Pandora.

Check out my super cool hot pink Brooks Pure Cadence/purple Pro Compression Marathon sock/black capri combo. I kinda wish I had bright colored capris instead.

LegWM

Spring continues to take its sweet time with showing up and making things warm, so it was a chilly and damp morning. At least there wasn’t freezing rain like yesterday!

BikePath WMJaimie and I chatted along the way and I tried to keep my pace nice and easy, but I kept speeding up. I’m not so good at sticking to the slow part of the LSD runs, but I had no problem maintaining conversation so I guess that’s good?

We did an out and back route and passed this Lock twice. The water was rushing SO fast and it looked too cool to pass up a photo. 
Lock WMAbout 6 miles in I sucked down my vanilla bean GU. It tasted like vanilla frosting! It’s not quite to the level of mint chocolate, but it’ll do.

vanillagu WMWe came back to the start of the bike path with a strong finish. 9 miles done! The Pro Compression socks really helped my calves stay in the game and gave my feet the extra support I need. (I’m wearing them still for a little while for recovery).

Proof WMThe run felt GREAT! Then, I hopped onto my bike to head the 2.25 miles back home. Oh boy did that hurt. This is what I looked like when I got to the house:

Duathlon DONE WMIt’s a good thing Jaimie and I made plans to go get some lunch together and hang out or else you wouldn’t have gotten to see that hilarious sight.

After peeling myself off the bike and throwing on dry clothes, we went to a local cafe for lunch and lattes. We both ordered the breakfast flatbread pizza.
image_7Whole grain flatbread, seasoned hash browns, cheese, eggs, sausage, peppers and tomatoes. That was pretty much the best recovery meal ever invented.

I hope anyone else who did a long run today had a good one!

5 Responses to “Accidental Duathlon”

  1. mindfulfitnessmovement April 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    If you would have jumped in the river you would have had a tri on our hands 🙂

    • Nikki April 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

      HAHA! Maybe I did…

  2. Mileage Mama April 13, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    I wore capris with the same purple compression socks for a long run last week, although my shoes are bright orange instead of pink. It was, um, an interesting look!

  3. katie April 15, 2013 at 9:07 am #

    I rock capris and compression socks all the time- love capris because they don’t ride up and bunch around the thighs. but love my compression socks- It works 😉 nice job on the “duathlon” I hate hate biking

  4. Jenny April 15, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    I would love to participate in a official duathlon! Once I fix up my crappy bike, I will be having all sorts of purposeful duathlons in the summer 😉 great job! Even tho, you really did look like death after..hahaha

Leave a Reply

