This StrideBox Rocks.

7 Apr

So many other runners have been talking about StrideBox, that I decided to check it out. Basically, you pay a monthly subscription and they send you a box full of running-related awesomeness. For a measly $15 a month, you get an assortment of gear, accessories, and nutritional products to try out. Each month’s products are a surprise and selected from both well-established and up-and coming brands. Sign me up!

My very first StrideBox arrived on my doorstep Friday, April 5. I immediately loved that the motto is “Just Keep Running.” We are so on the same page.

20130405-203200.jpg

It’s here!!!

Almost immediately, I tore it open. I was amazed at how much was stuffed into that little box!

20130405-210112.jpg

Big things in a small package

Here are all of the items laid out for your viewing pleasure:

20130407-163241.jpg

StrideBox also sends a handy guide describing the items and providing retail pricing information. Judging from these prices, the monthly subscription fee is a great deal!

20130407-163252.jpg

There was only one item missing from the list – the lighted reflective slap bracelet. This is a pretty neat item. I didn’t realize it lit up until I took it out of the package to model for a photo. It has 3 different light options – slow blink, fast blink, and steady. I don’t know any product information, unfortunately.

20130407-163310.jpg

Latest addition to the reflection collection

There are three items from the CLIF brand, the maker of my beloved Luna Protein bars. They packed the box with a Shot Energy Gel in Razz, Shot Bloks in Mountain Berry, and Mini Energy Bar in Chocolate Brownie. Mark and I like to take the CLIF Bars on hikes with us in the summer. I’ve tried the Shot Bloks before in a different flavor, but I really don’t do well with chewing on the run. I can still use them for pre-workout energy, though. I have been curious about the gels, but haven’t yet tried them so that will be new!

20130407-172138.jpg

Remember when I went on those lunchtime runs and didn’t have anything to clean myself off with? Well, that will be no problem the next time I decide to take a mid-workday run because I have a Full Body Wet Wipe from Action Wipes to throw into my bag!  It even says you can wash it and reuse it for other purposes.

20130407-163338.jpg

The Runner’s Shower

Hammer Nutrition had two products in the box, a Vegan Recovery Bar in Chocolate Peanut and HammerLips Wintermint lip balm. The lip balm is 100% natural and free of chemicals. It has a strange color but feels pretty good on my chapstick addicted lips!

20130407-163405.jpg

Hammer time

Another snack in the box is the Barnana chewy banana bites. They are 100% organic dehydrated bananas that you just pull out of the bag and snack on. We tried some today and they are tasty!

20130407-163414.jpg

Go bananas

When I saw this single serving of Energy Bits, I was not sure what to think. I’ve seen them featured a lot lately but the serving size of 20-30 tabs seems so strange to me. They are 100% natural organic green algae and are a bit expensive. Now I will have to chance to try them out and see what the hype is about!

20130407-163605.jpgMy favorite hydration company, nuun, also got into the box with a Cherry Limeade caffeine enhanced tablet and a Lemonade tablet. These are two of the newest flavors. I tried the Cherry Limeade already before getting this sample and I LOVE it! I’m looking forward to taste-testing the Lemonade.

20130407-163344.jpg

There you have it, April’s StrideBox! If you’re a runner or any kind of endurance athlete, StrideBox is a really great way to try out products at a reasonable cost. I highly recommend it.

20130407-163614.jpg

I’m already anxiously awaiting my box of goodies for May!

11 Responses to “This StrideBox Rocks.”

  1. slowgirlfastdog April 7, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    Oh what fun! I just joined after reading this post! Can’t wait for my first order!!

    • Nikki April 8, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Awesome! You won’t regret it 😉

  2. Amanda April 7, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    That sounds awesome! I might have to give that a shot…

  3. Britt @ BrittsRunningStyle April 8, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    I have been wanting to try Stridebox too… I think you might have convinced me! Found your blog from comments on http://www.hungryrunnergirl.com 🙂 Love your post!

    • Nikki April 8, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Glad I gave you incentive to try it and glad you found me!

  4. katie April 8, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    I loved this months stride box! The bananas were good/different. However I didnt read the instructions bc im impatient so I ended up chewing an algae tab and nearly threw up- Those are meant to be swallowed- OOPS! Still have that funky taste in my mouth….

    • Nikki April 8, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      Oops! I can only imagine what that was like.

      I really did like the barnanas, I will have to buy some more. They’re a great snack.

  5. Diana April 8, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    Wow, that is so cool! Sounds very fun. Do you have to sign up for a certain amount of time (like a year’s subscription or something)? Never mind. Off to investigate. LOL Thanks for sharing! =)

    • Nikki April 8, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      I’m sure you’ve already researched it by now, but you can stop your subscription any time! But…why would you want to?! 😉

  6. Tina April 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Wow I can’t believe you get all of that for 15 bucks! What a steal of a deal, I’ll have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

