Mile a Day in March Challenge: Complete

31 Mar

When a friend pointed out that I Love to Run was hosting a Mile a Day in March challenge, I figured, “Hey, why not? I can do that without a problem. A mile a day will be a piece of cake.” It was actually a little harder to squeeze that mile in on some days than I initially anticipated, but I did  it!

Instead of taking two-ish days off from running a week like I usually do, I decided to just run a mile on those days and add some strength training. Tuesdays and Thursdays are my longest days in the office, so those are the days I typically take off from running. On the other days, I stuck with my regular routine and continued with my mileage buildup.

So how’d it go?

My most favorite part of this challenge is that it gave me an opportunity to run with my husband, Mark a couple of times a week. He’s not really into running (yet) but he was willing to do a mile here and there with me. I loved the runs we took together. Even though they were short, it felt nice to be active together despite it being a very busy time of the year for him (tax season, ughhh). There were even a few times when he ran with me late at night just so I wouldn’t give up on hitting that mile for the day.

20130303-203043.jpg

Love him.

The least favorite part of this challenge was that since I struggled all winter with getting myself out of bed to run before work, getting a mile in sometimes meant running after 9:00 PM. In at least one case, it was 10:30 PM by the time I was home from work and throwing on my running shoes. There were times I just wanted to put my PJs on as soon as I walked in the door and struggled to force myself to get that mile done.

20130315-173508.jpg

Running at 10:30 PM on a week night is totally normal

The weather was pretty crazy in March, too.

Some days it was sunny and warm, like Spring was arriving right on time. That made for a pleasant Sunday afternoon run with the hubby.

20130310-185947.jpg

Sunny Sunday Runday

Then, there were freezing and snowy days. Looks pretty, but not as pleasant. The weather really didn’t know what it was doing or what season it was supposed to be.

20130319-200017.jpg

Just when we thought Spring was showing up to the party…

Regardless of the weather, time, or daily schedule, I ran every single day in March. And I’m proud I did that.

Overall, I’m glad I did this challenge. It definitely felt good to say that I completed it, even if it only meant getting in 1 mile for the day. I also really appreciated the miles I got to run with Mark. I think if I were to do a daily challenge again, I would definitely make sure I was running in the early morning to avoid that whole near-midnight running thing. The next challenge will be training for that hilly half marathon in May!

20130303-203051.jpg

Challenge complete.

Total Miles in March: 88.67

If you’re looking for another daily challenge, I Love to Run is doing a 1-3-5 Miles and Smiles Challenge for April. You can join it by clicking here.

6 Responses to “Mile a Day in March Challenge: Complete”

  1. slowgirlfastdog March 31, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    Congratulations! Way to stick with it…88.67 miles in one month is impressive!!

    • Nikki April 1, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks! It’s always fun to check monthly mileage, it really adds up!

  2. Diana April 1, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Congrats! I’m not sure I could ever do a challenge like that – I’m only a 4 day a week runner as it is… Who knows, though. Good for you. =)

    • Nikki April 1, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      Yeah! I think I prefer running on my own schedule much better. Glad I did it, but glad it’s over!

  3. Nick April 1, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    I have deliberately held back from running every day, because I just started, and I was afraid of burn-out or injury from doing too much; but watching your journey has been inspirational…I just may join this new challenge, if I can blend it in to my 10K training (4 weeks until the race!)

    • Nikki April 1, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      Aww, that’s sweet! If you just started running, go by how you feel. If taking on any challenge that pushes you to run every day feels like too much, then do your own thing! It’s good to take rest and cross training days, which is why I probably wouldn’t do a challenge that requires more than a daily mile. Good luck to you in the 10K!

Leave a Reply

