#RunChat Scavenger Hunt Complete!

23 Mar

This morning’s 6.5 mile run included some strategic planning to run past the last few items needed to complete the #RunChat Scavenger Hunt list. Mission accomplished!

runchat.jpgHere are all of my submissions in the order they appear on the official list, not in the order I found them.

1. A running sticker

This was found on the car of one of the ladies I had the pleasure of hanging out with at the Kilt Run 5K. It’s the coolest running sticker I’ve seen so far, so I had to submit it!

20130323-105641.jpg

2. A bridge

The first time I planned a run past this railroad bridge, it ended up being too dark for a photo when I got to it. I had to make a second trip in the daylight to capture it.

20130323-105744.jpg

3. A giant hill you’re going to run

This hill may not qualify as giant, but with a long gradual build and a little steep edge at the top, it packs a nice punch.

 20130323-105729.jpg

4. Christmas decorations still up

This photo was taken in front of my neighbor’s house, who still had a little reindeer family and trees hanging out in their yard. I think they noticed we were taking a photo because the next day the decorations were gone. Oops? After we snapped this photo I noticed a whole lot more houses with Christmas decorations still up and lit, so I could have submitted for this item at least 4 more times.

20130323-105650.jpg

5. Historical marker/sign

There are actually many many historical signs in our local area, so this is another item I could have submitted multiple times.  There’s so much history here! I chose this one because I think it’s kind of unique. It is the home of Robert Allen Deitcher, a famous composer. He wrote multiple popular songs but the one I recognized the most is “Home for the Holidays.”

20130323-105516.jpg

6. Letters from signs to create #RunChat

I’m proud of this one. This was the MOST challenging item to get because of that darn hashtag! Not many signs have a # hanging out on them. I spotted the # in graffiti under the railroad bridge pictured above. I had to navigate a difficult intersection, trudge through some snow, hang out on a little sidewalk, and shine a light on the wall to get a picture in the dark. I’m sure I looked totally suspicious. (Don’t worry, sounds a little crazy but I did not do anything unsafe, I promise).

20130323-105828.jpg

7. “Welcome to” city/state/county sign

Welcome to Schenectady! Did you know it’s called the “Electric City” because General Electric was founded here in 1892 and Thomas Edison moved his electric company here in 1897? There’s even a museum. This is one of my favorite welcome signs but it is not in an area I typically run in, so I had to be really strategic to get it.

20130323-105803.jpg

8. Water (lake/river/pond)

This is a snapshot of the Mohawk River near a park that I like to run through. There are actually many locations with water that I run by on a regular basis, but I liked this shot because of the rocks and driftwood.

20130323-105704.jpg

9. Trail marker or mile marker

Even though I didn’t run on the bike trail today, I incorporated a run to the entrance by the local community college just to get a picture of this mile marker.

20130323-105813.jpg

10. A scene from your favorite place to run

This is a shot of the path in the park I mentioned that is next to where I took the water photo. I love to run through here, especially on sunrise or sunset runs in the summertime or peak of autumn. The gray March weather didn’t really do this spot justice. 
20130323-105714.jpgThere you have it!

I had a lot of fun doing this challenge. In some ways it forced me to slow down on runs and really pay attention to what is around me (like scanning every sign I pass to find a #) and it gave me a reason to change up my routes and add some excitement to my regular routine. Plus, it also probably gave passersby a good laugh seeing me jumping over snow banks and sneaking by properties to snap a photo.

Did anyone else participate? If not, you still have until March 31 to get in all of your submissions for a chance to win some great prizes!

4 Responses to “#RunChat Scavenger Hunt Complete!”

  1. runnergurrl March 23, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Wow, great job completing the list!

    • Nikki March 24, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      Thanks! It was a lot of fun.

  2. olivetorun March 24, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    This was so fun to read through! Awesome work! 🙂

  3. krissy m. murphy March 25, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    Nice work! I love your take on the scavenger hunt!

Leave a Reply

