This week’s highlights

22 Mar

There have been many running-related things swirling through my mind this week and once I get my thoughts together there will be a couple of great posts coming up. I can feel it.

Life gets pretty busy for us, especially considering I work 40 hours Monday through Thursday and Mark works 55+ (including Saturdays) during tax season and there is always something going on on weekends. Sometimes it seems I end up with a long list of topics I want to blog about but run out of time to really develop these ideas and write about them. I think I’m going to start writing a bunch of things ahead of time. Or maybe voice record them in the car or on long runs. How crazy would I look if I was talking to myself while running?

Here are a couple of highlights from this week.

When you don’t have any croutons or oyster crackers for your soup…why not use Trader Joe’s Multigrain O’s? That was exactly what I was thinking and I tried it with TJ’s carrot ginger soup. Turns out it is an AMAZING idea. I might even dare say it ranks with that idea Mark had about making Speculoos cookie butter sandwiches.

20130322-154741.jpg

All this soup and no crackers

20130322-154749.jpg

Hey, these are kind of like crackers…

20130322-154951.jpg

Soup and crunch perfection.

I’ve been trying more and more of the Naked juices and I’ve decided I’m most definitely a fan. I was having a lot of stomach issues this week and tried the Probiotic Machine. It tasted great and seemed to help ease the tummy troubles, so I will put it on my grocery list in the future.

20130322-154833.jpg

System reboot

Brooks recently released new shoe updates for 2013 and you know what that means? Last year’s model goes on SALE! I hear so many great things about Brooks products that I have been contemplating trying out the Pure Project line of shoes. I have a problem with overpronation and the Pure Cadence seemed like just the ticket. I was a little slow to discover they were all on sale, but I was lucky enough to snag a pair in my size from Dick’s. They just arrived today!

I immediately put them on to run errands and I’m pretty sure I’m already in love with them. Brooks describes the support technology as “holding your foot like an endless hug” and I can honestly say that is exactly what it feels like! I’m looking forward to taking them on their first run tomorrow morning.

20130322-154847.jpg

Brooks Pure Cadence and I are about to be BFFs

Overall, this week’s runs and workouts have been great even with a big snow storm. I already told you about Monday’s 4 mile run, but here’s the others.

Keeping up with the Mile a Day in March challenge, I ran a quick mile Tuesday night and then Mark joined me Thursday night for another mile. I think my efforts to turn him into a runner might be working because he hasn’t even tried to find reasons not to run with me when I ask him.

Wednesday night’s run was at sunset and I felt pretty strong. I even powered up a hill for the #RunChatHunt.

4.58 miles | 40:07 total time | 8:46 avg pace

20130322-154819.jpg

Sunset run by the pond

Today’s run had me feeling less than great, so I ended up cutting it a little shorter than I had originally planned. I’m not sure what it was today but it was just not as into it. Maybe it was because I was bummed that new shoes hadn’t arrived by the time I hit the road!

3.12 miles | 28:52 total time | 9:15 avg pace

I’m still working on my core and doing my lolofit circuit a few times a week. I’m feeling stronger each time! I know it is helping me be a stronger runner overall and I’m noticing some positive changes.

I’ve got the racing bug, so I spent some time today checking out local races for April. Once I make some final decisions I’ll share my plans.

Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

