Race Recap: Uncle Marty’s Kilt Run 5K

18 Mar

I have been waiting to post the full recap of Saturday’s Kilt Run 5K because I was hoping to get a hold of my finish line photo to possibly maybe share with you if it turned out to be more awesome than awkward. Also, I have been very busy.

Saturday was off to kind of a rough start. A friend of mine was supposed to join me for the race but had to cancel last minute due to some unforeseen events. And since mostly everyone I knew was headed to the St. Patrick’s Day Parade and Mark was working (boo tax season), I was off to the race location on my own! Another bummer – I left my Garmin on its charger, so I was left with just my faulty internal pace clock.

Another friend of mine was nice enough to get up early to make me some pre-race pancakes before he headed off to the parade. When the race is later in the morning (11:45 AM), pancakes and home fries make an acceptable breakfast. At least, in my mind…

20130318-205500.jpg

Blueberry pancakes and home fries for pre-race fuel

I have to admit, going to a race totally solo is kind of weird and awkward. Luckily, I parked next to two super sweet ladies named Katie and Michelle who were more than willing to be my BFFs for the day. They helped me make the last minute decision to put my thermal tights under my mini-kilt (it was freezing) and took my pre-race photo.

20130318-205136.jpg

Kilted up and ready to go

Considering this was my first 5K since healing my foot injury, my main goal was to have fun. I wasn’t too concerned about time other than figuring I’d be around 25 minutes-ish based on previous 5Ks.

Fun fact: a man at the starting line asked me if I was a student at the local high school. He seemed genuinely shocked when I told him I was 28, married, and in a professional job. Thanks, I think?

Anyway.

I didn’t really know what to expect on the course, as there wasn’t really a course map or description. There also were no mile markers at all. Combined with the fact that I didn’t have my Garmin pace buddy, this race was all about wingin’ it. It turned out to be pretty hilly. I let out an audible “ewwww” when we turned a corner and faced a big fat steep hill.

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I’m a terrible self-pacer. Here’s solid proof. During the race, I could have sworn I was going slow, about 8:30 miles at least, maybe even 9:00. Sooooo wrong. So very wrong.

Because I actually managed a PR! My total time was 23:23, which meant an average pace of 7:32 min/mile. As soon as we turned the final corner and I glimpsed the time clock, I excitedly made a made dash to the finish line. I let out a little fist pump as I danced across the timing mat.

Here’s where the biggest bummer of not having anyone I knew at the race comes in. I was excited about my PR and there was no one there to see it or let me give them a big sweaty hug. The guy who removed the timing chip from my sneaker laces wasn’t really all that interested.

But as soon as my new friends Katie and Michelle finished up (they did a run/walk combo), we all shared hugs and cheers for each other. And a mug of Guinness. I don’t drink beer, so I shared mine and got to bring my cool mug home.

20130318-205146.jpg

Every St. Patty’s Day race should end with beer

After the race, there was a big party with fire circles, food, beer, music, games, and a costume contest. My new BFFs for the day were kind enough to let me hang out with them for a while. We also spotted this cute little dog wagging his tail around…

20130318-205154.jpg

Irish Wolfhound

As a small, newer event (this was the 2nd year) there is definitely room for improvement (such as clearer online registration, clearer directions, an actual course map, mile markers, cones to mark off the shoulder on busy streets, etc). Overall, I enjoyed the race and festivities and would consider running it again. If anything, I’d get some more use out of the mini-kilt!

16 Responses to “Race Recap: Uncle Marty’s Kilt Run 5K”

  1. Amanda March 18, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    Awesome PR, Nikki! I’ve gone to a few races solo before, and I love how relaxing it is, weirdly enough. I always meet the nicest people too!

    • Nikki March 18, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks! There are pros and cons to solo races, but I think I lean more toward preferring to have at least one familiar face. Especially if it was a bigger or longer race!

      • Amanda March 18, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

        Oh, definitely. I don’t mind doing a 5k by myself, and I even ran my 10k alone. But for my half, I’m making sure everyone is there! Mostly to hand me food, but for the support too.

      • Nikki March 18, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

        Haha, yes…that is very important!

  2. Nick March 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Right on for the PR! I too am a terrible self-pacer, also running faster than I think I am…but that’s not so bad if we don’t burn out, right?

    • Nikki March 18, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      Who knows! I might’ve kept up the speed if I knew I was going that fast!

  3. Diana March 19, 2013 at 7:34 am #

    Not only did you look adorable, but you got a PR, too? Awesome! =)

  4. olivetorun March 19, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    LOVE kilt races! I did one at the beginning of the month and wrote about it on my blog.

    Nice job on the PR!

    • Nikki March 19, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      Yes I saw that! So much fun. Thanks 🙂

  5. Running In Heels March 19, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    You are awesome!! Way to go on the super speedy time!

    • Nikki March 19, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      Thank you 🙂

  6. Bill March 19, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    This sounds like such a fun race….perhaps next year you will have a buddy – provided he can schedule accordingly! And Im not afraid to wear a mini kilt…..

    • Nikki March 19, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

      B! I’d love to mini-kilt with you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finish photo and a fun survey | run+breathe+be - March 20, 2013

    […] My slightly-awkward-but-mostly-awesome finish line photo from Saturday’s Kilt Run 5K! […]

  2. The 30 Minute Barrier | Silk & Tofu - March 23, 2013

    […] Race Recap: Uncle Marty’s Kilt Run 5K (runbreathebe.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

