Oops, I ran at lunchtime again.

12 Mar

I think I’m going to start leaving a bag of running gear in my car on a regular basis. You never know when you can squeeze a run in, right? Yesterday I had one of those days where a cancellation means a two hour lunch break. Since we had a late night office meeting on the schedule, I figured why not get those 4 miles done for the day? It was either that or run at 10:00PM or skip it.

Lunch break run it is! I must have been kidding myself when I said that whole business about not doing this on the regular.

Anyway, it was a pretty nice day for a run. I got my 4 miles in and still had time to dry myself off, change, and eat lunch. However, I did forget that dry shampoo again…

20130312-131623.jpg4.05 miles | 39:21 total time | 9:42 avg pace

I wanted to run 4 miles yesterday because I had this plan for my mini-taper before Saturday’s 5K:

  • Monday – 4 miles
  • Tuesday – 1 mile, core and arm circuit
  • Wednesday – 3 miles
  • Thursday – 1 mile, core and arm circuit
  • Friday – 2 easy easy miles, extra stretching and foam rolling, legs up, shamrock green manicure, finalizing kilt costume

It’s pretty rainy today, so tonight’s mile and strength training will likely happen at the gym on my way home later tonight. (If I blog it, it will happen…)

Does anyone else do mini-tapers for 5Ks? I did a little research and the general consensus is to do a half week taper sort of thing with speed work or a the longest run of the week on Monday. I just kind of winged my little plan, so we’ll see if it works for me. I’m still feeling that Shape.com leg workout I did on Sunday (it turned out to be a little more intense than it felt like initially). Hopefully my easy running and stretching regimen will work that out in time for fresh legs on Saturday. Since my only real goal is to have fun and not necessarily to break the land speed barrier, I think it will be OK.

5 Responses to “Oops, I ran at lunchtime again.”

  1. Christine March 12, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Nice job getting the run in during lunch. I’m sure it wouldn’t be the end of the world if I left school during our lunch time, but I haven’t thought to ask/try. It’d be great for days that I have evening plan ( I can’t bring myself to be a morning runner yet)

    • Nikki March 12, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      I really prefer to do early morning runs, but it seems this winter has been a no-go for being consistent with that. For some reason I’ve decided to get really creative or do late night runs just so I can sleep until the last minute possible in the morning…sounds logical, right?

  2. Nick March 12, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    Early morning runs are just about impossible…I already get up at 5 to be at work by 7 (such is the life of the construction worker, in a city with ridiculous traffic jams every day). My routine is to run the sun down, but sometimes other things get in the way. Running at lunchtime is something I had not considered, but since I won’t need to shower, and my lunch break is 45 minutes, I could get 3-4 miles in pretty easy! Thanks for the idea!

  3. Jenny March 13, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    Great job Nikki!!!
    I LOVE running at lunch!! I have started carpooling with a coworker and we take turns driving, yesterday I brought all my running gear but realized half way to work that my running jacket was in my car…parked at her house!
    I only have half an hour for lunch, so its normally a 3-5km run! (5 km when there is nooo snow, and I can come back a little later! lol). I usually eat before I go while working, or after!
    I probably smell…but I don’t care! lol. Isn’t that what deodorant is for?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lunchtime Running | - March 26, 2013

    […] Oops, I ran at lunchtime again. (runbreathebe.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

