Low mileage weekend

10 Mar

Sometimes it’s nice to take it easy with running on the weekend and recharge. Since I did my longer run on Wednesday night, I decided to keep this weekend low mileage. My legs were feeling pretty tired after the week’s runs and I thought it would be a good opportunity to rest them a little. I’m running a 5K next weekend and while I’m not going in with any particular time goals, I don’t want to have dead legs! I plan to run no more than 4 miles at a time with a mini-taper after Wednesday.

Saturday morning I started the day with a 1.27 mile loop (11:07 total time) followed by lots of stretching and foam rolling. My calves get super tight and sore and I’m really thinking I need to invest in some compression socks. (Dear ProCompression, feel free to send me a box. K thanks.)

Before I knew it, it was time to get ready to meet my friend Jenn for a lunch and shopping date. We ate at Fresh Healthy Cafe, where they have a nice selection of soups, wraps, paninis, and such made with natural ingredients. Their whole mission is to have a healthy alternative to the fast food choices. I chose the turkey pesto wrap.

20130310-185839.jpg

This looks lonely without chips…hmm.

While we were out I found my outfit for next weekend’s Kilt Run 5K! I’m excited because this is the first time I will be wearing a costume for a race. I found a c9 by Champion active t-shirt at Target on sale. At Party City I scored big by finding a mini kilt, shamrock tattoo, and knee high shamrock socks. I wasn’t able to find something I liked for my hair, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to find something last minute. I think I’ll paint my nails green, too. I also need to buy a pair of little black compression shorts unless I want to give everyone a peek at my shamrock…

20130310-190724.jpg

Kilt Run 5K outfit

We also checked out this super cool spice store that’s new to our mall. We could have spent all day in here! I’ve never seen so many types of cinnamon before. There are sooo many single spices and extracts as well as tons of blends and gift sets. Next person I know to get married is getting a gift from here!

20130310-190019.jpg

A foodie dream shop!

20130310-185823.jpg

Herbs, spices, and extracts galore

I’ve been wanting to try out the running skirt thing but wanted to find a low-budget running option just in case I turn out not to be a fan. I stopped by a Marshall’s on the way home and I found this little Champion running skirt for $9.99. Perfect!

20130310-194100.jpg

Budget-friendly Champion running skirt

The husband and I had a very Italian themed weekend when it came to meals. Friday night we went out for some nice Italian food and wine at a place called Bellini’s. It was just what we were looking for!

20130310-185754.jpg

Couture Canneloni – Pasta sheets filled with beef, pork, and mushrooms baked in a butternut squash sauce

Since we were in the area anyway, we just had to get some frozen yogurt…

20130310-185807.jpg

Red velvet, birthday cake, and salted caramel froyo with graham cracker crumbs and cheesecake bites. Perfection.

The Italian theme continued Saturday night when we visited a friend for dinner. I picked up some pastries (including cannolis of course) at Villa Italia and we enjoyed some pizza, caprese salad, and montelpuciano wine.

20130310-185903.jpg

Villa Italia’s pastry display

20130310-185854.jpg

Don’t worry, the box was only half full

20130310-185912.jpg

Mangia!

I tried very hard to stay awake for SNL to see Justin Timberlake host, but I fell asleep right after he did his first musical performance. Bummer. The Vegan Ville skit was pretty funny. Guess I’ll have to replay it on Hulu!

Thanks to Daylight Savings Time, getting up this morning was not a fun game. Today was all about brunch, errands, and chores. But don’t worry, Mark and I got that mile in!

20130310-185947.jpg

45 degrees and sunny, Spring is coming!

After our 1.09 mile run (9:56 total time), it was time for my core circuit! Since Mark was around for this, I got some badass awkward action shots. My favorite is the one where I’m doing the side plank with leg abduction. It was the ONLY time I actually did it all the way…

20130310-185954.jpg

Like a champ.

I finished the day’s workout with this leg circuit from Shape.com. Nice little workout for a Sunday afternoon! Maybe someday I’ll make a photo collage of the other moves. Then I will submit it to America’s Most Awkward and win millions of dollars.

Until then, it’s Sunday night and that means it’s Walking Dead time! Hope everyone had a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Low mileage weekend”

  1. olivetorun March 11, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Your kilt outfit is adorable! 🙂

    • Nikki March 11, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks! I’m excited about it. I hope we have good weather!

  2. Tina March 11, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Love your Kilt run outfit! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

