It’s a great day to be a woman

8 Mar

Happy International Women’s Day! Today is a global celebration of women’s achievements as well as a day to raise awareness for furthering equality for women around the world. I am very grateful for the women who have come before to allow me the opportunity to vote, work, choose, and run. I am also very grateful to the women in my life who have raised me, taught me, and supported me. I am grateful for the women who continue to be at the forefront of breaking down professional, political, and legal barriers. I am hopeful that our future daughters will continue to expand these rights and strive to ensure that all women are able to have equal, safe, fulfilling lives.

There are so many women whom I find inspiring, but that list would take pages and pages to discuss. Here are some women who have fought for the right for women to run and compete:

Kathrine Switzer in the 1967 Boston Marathon (Source)

Sarah Attar, first Saudi woman to compete in Olympic track in 2012 (Source)

I plan to continue to celebrate Women’s History Month by finally watching the PBS special Makers: Women Who Make America and channeling runners I admire (such as Kara Goucher and Deena Kastor) when I’m in need of motivation.

Who inspires you?

Now with all that inspiration in mind, on to today’s run!

We got a few inches of wet snow last night into this morning, so the roads were pretty slushy until the afternoon. The sun came out and shined on the snow, making for some nice scenery for my run. I tried to take this one fairly easy because I’m running a 5K next weekend. It’s my first 5K (and also my first race) since coming back from injury, so I’d like to make sure my legs aren’t totally beaten up. Plus, I did my long run already this week!

Should've worn sunglasses!

Should’ve worn sunglasses!

3.15 miles | 29:17 total time | 9:18 avg pace

I followed the run up by working my core and arms with my lolofit apps. I thought about mixing in a little bit of a leg workout but I decided to leave that for tomorrow. Plus, I really needed to get in the shower if I wanted to be fresh and clean for our dinner plans tonight!

When I came back from my run, this was waiting for me in the mailbox:

20130308-170434.jpg

Runner’s World April issue

Looking forward to diving into this one! I haven’t been good with reading my last couple of RW issues from cover to cover, so this is going to be a goal for me this month. I’m especially interested in that lose 5 pounds thing…hmm…

The husbo and I are now off to find some quality Italian food and wine for dinner. Enjoy your night, everyone!

2 Responses to “It’s a great day to be a woman”

  1. Jade March 8, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    Happy I-women’s day to you!

  2. olivetorun March 9, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Such a great post and such a great reason to celebrate 🙂

Leave a Reply

