Monday Meditation: Magic in your shoes

4 Mar

Happy Monday everyone! This week’s meditation is short, but there’s a sweet, powerful message in it.

“Our running shoes have magic in them—the power to transform a bad day into a good day; frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence; chocolate cake into muscle.”

-Mina Samuels, Run Like a Girl

I think I was drawn to this quote mainly because it mentions chocolate cake. Since I’ve been increasing my weekly mileage, I have been ravenous and for me that means full-on snack mode. I just want to eat all day every day. So if this quote is true, I’m probably going to be pure muscle someday.

OK, in all seriousness – I really believe the words in this quote because running really does have the power to transform us beyond the physical. A long run or a hard workout can cleanse the soul and the more we meet goals, the better we feel about ourselves. Running shows us what we can do and who can we be. Our bodies get stronger, but so do our hearts and minds. That’s not magic – that’s all you.

Go ahead and eat that cake, you deserve it.

3 Responses to “Monday Meditation: Magic in your shoes”

  1. Mindy @ Road Runner Girl March 5, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    That’s an awesome quote!!!

    • Nikki March 5, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      I think it’s one of my favorites now!

  2. Diana March 5, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    Love!

Leave a Reply

