Let’s have some frun!

3 Mar

With a midnight frun (fun+run=frun) and a second one at noon, not only did I put in 9 solid miles and enjoy tasty food yesterday, I got to meet some of the most welcoming and genuinely nice people in the area who enjoy running as much as I do. Very glad I made a goal this year to be more active in the Albany Running Exchange!

Once a year the ARE organizes frun day, where there are groups runs scheduled from midnight to 11:55 pm at different locations in the NY Capital Region and beyond (one member posted his run in China!). There is also a lot of food at most of the meetups. The idea is to have fun and see how many miles you can log in a day.

Midnight frun:

I met up with 7 other guys in the group at a nearby parking lot, decked out in gear with reflectors, blinkers, and lights. The idea was to keep around a 10:00 pace, but we were definitely going at about an 8:00 pace for mile 2 and 3. It was a workout for me!

4.12 miles | 36:28 total time | 8:52 avg pace

20130302-175445.jpgMy see and be seen essentials.

After driving the 3 minutes home and stretching, it was after 1:00 AM. I had a very hard time falling asleep (runner’s high and all) and when I did, I had a nightmare about running a half marathon with crazy obstacles and then getting disqualified because I couldn’t find the finish line….

Noon frun:

For this one, a bunch of people met up at one of the ARE member’s homes. The vibe was so overwhelmingly friendly and welcoming! Seriously, I have never experienced people so excited to see someone they haven’t met yet. I immediately felt glad I had decided to show up. A couple of the runners from the midnight adventure were also there and others had run at other times in other locations that morning. For this frun, there was an out-and-back course which we could either do 3 or 5 miles. I planned on doing the 3 miles, but was having so much fun I decided to keep on going. It turned out to be just shy of the 5 miles.

4.88 miles | 46:37 total time | 9:35 avg pace

FRUN 2013 noon runSome of the ARE members. Photo credit: Letticia Ruderman via Facebook

20130302-175506.jpgPost-frun vegetarian chili and cornbread – delicious!

Afterwards, we ate a bunch of great food and talked about running, life, and random stuff. I feel like I made a lot of new running best friends and I’m looking forward to doing more fruns and activities with them!

After I got home, it was time to get ready for a charity gala that Mark and I were invited to by a friend to benefit a private school. We got all fancied up and headed over to the party.

20130302-175514.jpgPre-gala primping

20130302-175520.jpgMark’s GQ pose

20130303-132124.jpgWe’re fancy.

20130303-132418.jpg

Baked crab-stuffed haddock with mashed potatoes and green beans – incredible!

We were out until after midnight wine-ing, dining, and dancing. My legs were definitely tired! It was really a great day and night. We are still up to a bunch of things today, but I will have to make another post about those funtivities later.

7 Responses to “Let’s have some frun!”

  1. Amanda March 3, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    That sounds like a lot of fun! I’m hoping I can find something similar in my area. Any tips for finding good running groups?

    • Nikki March 3, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      A friend of mine told me of this running group over the summer, I just hadn’t been active until now. I’d say ask around, see who sponsors local races, do an online search for your area/region, and see who’s talking about different groups. This particular group also does a lot of the event production for area races, so they are pretty large and well-known in the Albany area and beyond. I hope that helps?

  2. Diana March 5, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    You are adorable! =)

    • Nikki March 5, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      Aww, shucks. Thanks 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. run+breathe+be - March 4, 2013

    […] spending a couple of tasty hours at the Greenmarket and making a quick blog post, I managed to rope my husband into running a mile with me! A friend of mine challenged me to run at […]

  2. Are there wings on my shoes? | run+breathe+be - March 6, 2013

    […] for today changed a little bit and I will be done at the office in time to meet up with my new Albany Running Exchange friends for a group […]

  3. Another group run and my modeling debut | run+breathe+be - March 7, 2013

    […] last Chilly Willy run, I was met by about 30 other runners, many of which I met on Saturday’s fruns as well as plenty of new faces. Once it seemed like everyone was there, we headed out for a big […]

Leave a Reply

