Lunch break run

26 Feb

When my alarm went off at 5:30 AM this morning, my brain intervened and made me immediately change it back to the normal get-up time. Makes sense, considering how tired I was yesterday. While I was getting ready for work I thought about how I might get that run in today and a 9:00 PM start time didn’t sound too appealing. So I decided to get a little creative and attempt a run on my lunch break for the first time ever.

I packed a bunch of my running gear and carted it all to the office. The weather was pretty nice and warmer than usual, so I only needed about 10% of what was in my bag.

20130226-135344.jpgI had a cancellation, so my lunch break was actually extended and I had 2 full hours. I ran around a beautiful, quiet neighborhood right near the office building with some seriously nice houses for scenery! I kept a really easy pace to help minimize the sweating (I’m a sweater, so this was tricky) and I kept my bangs loose in an effort to make them easier to restyle afterward (not my best idea). I ran 3 miles in just under 30 minutes.

20130226-135352.jpgWhen I got back, I stretched outside to cool off  and then headed in to mop myself off, put my work clothes back on, and refresh my makeup. With the extra hour, I had plenty of time to relax and enjoy my lunch. I could have changed, ran, changed, and eaten a quick lunch in just the 1 hour, but I really don’t think that is ideal for me. A couple of things I wish I had thought of before this impromptu lunch break run – body wipes and dry shampoo. I wasn’t  stinky or gross after I changed, but I think those additions would have made it easier to freshen up.

I don’t think I’ll doing a lunch break run on the regular, and would only reserve it for the times when I can’t fit a run in anywhere else during serious training. I’m glad I went for it today, though! Anyone else run on their lunch break?

I also tried the Designer Whey chocolate caramel crunch protein bar. I was very excited to try this since I had really enjoyed the protein shake, but I was a little disappointed. I did really like the flavor, but I found myself comparing it overall to my favorite Luna protein mint chocolate chip bar. The Designer Whey bar was harder, slightly smaller, and packed a little less punch in the nutrition.

20130226-214653.jpgNutrition facts:

Designer Whey protein bar – 170 cal, 6g fat (4.5g sat), 10mg cholesterol, 130mg sodium, 120mg potassium, 19g carbs (0g fiber, 14g sugar), 10g protein

Luna protein bar – 170 cal, 5g fat (3.5g sat), 0mg cholesterol, 250mg sodium, 150mg potassium, 20g carbs (3g fiber, 13g sugar), 12g protein

Conclusion: For now I think I will be sticking with Luna for protein bars and Designer Whey for shakes!

2 Responses to “Lunch break run”

  1. Mindy @Road Runner Girl February 27, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    How awesome that you got to run on your lunch break! As a teacher that is NOT an option…because my lunch break is only about 20 minutes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oops, I ran at lunchtime again. | run+breathe+be - March 12, 2013

    […] a regular basis. You never know when you can squeeze a run in, right? Yesterday I had one of those days where a cancellation means a two hour lunch break. Since we had a late night office meeting on the […]

Leave a Reply

