Monday Meditation: The power of running

25 Feb

I stayed up wayyyy too late last night to watch the Oscars and today was a busy day at work. That combination means I am dragging! I’m just getting around to posting today’s meditation. Good thing it’s supposed to last all week!

Anyway.

I’m in love with this quote.

“Running has as much power over me as I have over running. Sometimes, when I haven’t run for several days, the balance is shifted and running gains the upper hand, and the impulse to run becomes unwieldy. But most of the time, it’s a good partnership.

Often, people can’t understand how running can have so much power. They say it’s little more than a slightly ambitious version of walking. True running is a simple primitive act. Yet in its subtleties lies tremendous power. For in running, the muscles work a little harder, the blood flows a little faster, the heart beats a little stronger. Life becomes a little more vibrant, a little more intense. I like that.”

– Dean Karnazes, Ultramarathon Man

This quote strikes such a chord with me, I’m not sure there’s much I can really add. I find truth in every word!

I have never thought of running as a partnership before, but it makes so much sense. I have always considered running as a source of balance and feel the shift when too much time passes between runs (um, hello. 3 months off, what?). But, I also know that I’m the one in control of my running and the choices I make will determine my success. Some people may not understand that partnership or the power of running, but it’s that inherent quality that draws one to it.

Running truly does add vibrancy and intensity to life – I know I feel more awake and alive when I’m running consistently and coming up with new challenges for myself. What about you?

Happy Monday!

4 Responses to “Monday Meditation: The power of running”

  1. Amanda February 25, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Great quote! I know I feel tired and kind of sore after a run, but then it gives way to more energy and better sleep in the long run. Plus I just feel gross when I don’t run for a while.

  2. Jan Scott (@janscott75) February 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    The quote makes sense to me. I love Dean K.! I feel ridiculous after a few rest days. I had to take 10 days off due to injury this fall and I was miserable. I’m not even fast, but I still love it!!

    • Nikki February 26, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      You don’t have to be fast to love running! It’s all about the movement 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dean Karnazes: The human body | Rubber Tyres --> Smooth Rides - June 30, 2014

    […] Monday Meditation: The power of running(runbreathebe.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

